We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant-ish!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant-ish!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hi, stayed here for a night. On arrival the receptionist greeted me and then started to talk to another guest and ignored me, eventually she got to me. I was told i was to stay in the north lodge away from the hotel main building. The room was nice and clean, however didn't have the same feel as all the other Best Western hotels I've stayed in. It took me a while to work out how to get the power to work in the room, (There is a slot on the wall to put the key card into) The receptionist obviously would of told me this if she was not talking to the other guest. The room did remind me of a Premier Travel Inn. I then herd the noise going from the main road going into Torquay and the railway tracks (all night). The main hotel looked nice with a view over the estuary. So not a good stay (not asked if my stay was nice by reception) If you do go there ask not to be put in the "North Lodge" unless you like noise. Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simomAud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you didn't feel satisfied with the service you received during your stay.

I would like to discuss this with you, please can you email to me a contact number to carleywarren@passagehousegroup.co.uk

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    435
    192
    78
    52
See reviews for
161
619
32
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a 3 night deal. Hotel and facilities were good. Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly. Full cooked breakfast each morning over looking the river estuary was really nice. The leisure (gym/pool) facilities were small but adequate for a few nights stay, after all the hotel does not profess to being a health club. Had evening meals in both the hotel and adjacent pub. Hotel meal was exceptionally nice, the pub meal was of a pub standard. We had a very nice time here and are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
We will look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here in the past and more recently and NO change. I mean none!
Staff are lovely but the hotel and food are stuck firmly in the 1970's/1980's.
The menu is extremely limited and old fashioned and really I struggle to find something to eat on the menu. Don't eat in the restaurant if you are a foodie or if you want to have your meal with any kind of ambience.
I guess if you are older and like the very traditional old fashioned hotels then this is the place for you. I don;t mean to be unkind but I felt like I was visiting Crossroads (remember that?)
Rooms are fine and the location is great if you want a place out of town. However you cannot walk to the town from here so be aware of that if you arrive by taxi.
C'mon Passage House you have a great location and lovely staff - time to make the most of it!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your stay. I can assure you that improvements have been made to the bedrooms at the hotel including complete refurbishments, and we have more plans for the future.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate in contacting me on 01626355515.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Due to the location of this Hotel I use it on a regular basis when I visit the Head Office of the company I work for. I can only say that the Passage House has an excellent level of service that is maintained by all the staff from the Cleaners up to the Management team. They are friendly and always take the time to ensure that your stay is the best it could be. That applies not only to regulars like myself but also those on Holiday or visiting for just one night as I have observed over my many stays.
Quite simply an excellent example of how a Hotel should be run. Friendly, Professional, Value for Money, Clean, Good Food and a pleasure to return to as nothing is too much trouble for them. Well done guys. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bognorregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I will enjoy sharing your feedback with the rest of the team at the hotel.

We will look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Excellent river views from the hotel, slightly disappointed with the leisure facilities, not quite what described on the website but other that, the food in the pub and the hotel restaurant was excellent and the staff were brilliant also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank AJH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the hotel's team.

Kind Regards
Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a two night break from a voucher scheme. Room was OK - pretty ordinary and in need of a of a bit of a facelift. The evening dinner was fine if a little pricey. Breakfasts were fine but lacked any real service with only two waitresses trying to cope with quite a full hotel.
For the dinner on the second night we chose to go to the nearby pub which may be owned by the same people and that was very busy but better value and good food. Wouldn't bother with the main restaurant if we ever went back which I doubt we will.
Tried to book a massage from the health club but they were fully booked up "sometime in advance" which is unfortunate for short term visitors.
Nice views across the estuary and in summer it is probably excellent to sit out on the terrace to enjoy them, but you might need to think about the insect life since the area is tidal and so likely to be midge-populated I would think!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side may be better - ours overlooked the car park but not an issue. Limited car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay with us here at the Best Western Passage House Hotel.

Yes our Bliss Spa, is very popular with guests staying at the hotel and with guests who live in the area, so booking in advance is advised.

We are lucky not to have to worry with regards insects i.e midges in the summer, and as you mentioned our decking is a perfect place to sit and enjoy the views in the summer and also on a dry winters day.

We are lucky to have approximately 200 car parking spaces at the hotel, so parking is never an issue if you are staying at the hotel or visiting our Bliss Spa.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.

If you would like to discuss your stay any further with myself please do not hesitate in contacting me on 01626 355515.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
79 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
221 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
327 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Property: Best Western Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot
Best Western Passage House Hotel Kingsteignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing