We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gamekeeper B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gamekeeper B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Charminster B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our second visit visiting friends in the area and bringing other friends with us this time. As before, everything about our visit was perfect, the rooms, the restaurant, the meals and most of all the staff. No one could find fault with anything over the two days and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else when we're in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

A lovely place to stay. Jackie the owner was really friendly and made you feel very welcome. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Would return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnjan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A business colleague invited me to a birthday celebration meal at the Gamekeeper and I decided
to stay overnight because of the long drive home, when I booked in I was given a very warm welcome by Jackie the owner, the evening meal, breakfast and room were excellent, Jackie and her her staff offer a friendly and professional service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradninch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned with my wife from a 2 day stay at the Gamekeeper. Booked this after reading some of the previous reviews and i have to say im so glad i did. Room check in commences from 2pm, so when we arrived at 10am we were not expecting to be able to check straight into our room, however Jackie the owner made our room up and we went straight in. The room was clean and comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and a large double bed. The bathroom was equipped with a toilet,sink and shower cubical, no bath tub in our room, however i do not know if any of the other rooms have a bath tub. If im being perfectly honest the lack of bath tub does not bother me as i prefer a shower anyway, however the shower cubical was a little on the small side and could possibly prove a bit difficult for the larger person. Anyway on to the bar and restaurant, these i found to be excellent. The bar served a good range of beer and spirits with the Gamekeeper real ale a must try. the restaurant area was spotless and very well laid out. Now comes the best bit, the food. One word describes the food BEAUTIFUL. Just eating our evening meal in the restaurant made our stay worthwhile. Our stay was on a bed and breakfast basis, and im pleased to say breakfast was also great. The breakfast consisting of a bowl of cereal followed by a full english with toast then came toast and marmalade/jam all washed down with fresh fruit juice and tea or coffee. So if you are looking for a relaxing stay in the Dorset country it is certainly worth seeking out Jackie and The Gamekeeper. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Made to feel very welcome, We stayed over night as we had a family funeral to go to. We dined in the evening and must say there menu was very good and the food was excellent. Breakfast was served at the time we requested and that was very good indeed. Thank you owners for making our stay easy under the circumstances. We will come back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wow! just once every blue moon you come across such a place. My my wife and I were looking for a lovely little spot within walking distance of Dorchester and we certainly came up trumps with this one, the couple that own it welcomed us as if we were long lost friends and couldn't do enough for us. The pub/restaurant is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the menu looked fantastic. After a chat and a drink with the owners in their bar, we were taken to our room which over looked the fields and river to the rear of the pub absolutely lovely, as the door to the room was opened we were not to be disappointed either. The room was again lovely & clean, warm and inviting, all the mod cons were present and correct and the en-suite spot on. What an absolute gem this establishment is. I would suggest you find it real soon, before the word gets out and you wont be able to book in. My wife and I shall definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms which overlooked the rear fields/river and weren't disappointed yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charminster
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.6 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#6 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gamekeeper B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gamekeeper B & B

Property: The Gamekeeper B & B
Address: 16 North Street, Charminster DT2 9QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Charminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B in Charminster, 2 miles south of Dorchester. Large car park, riverside garden, beautiful restaurant and stylish bar. All rooms en-suite, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gamekeeper B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gamekeeper B & B Charminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing