We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another magic stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canonbie, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Del1991
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another magic stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I have just returned from our 3rd stay at the cottage and it gets better each time. The cottage has everything you want and need and it's location is so peaceful and beautiful. The hot tub is brill. We will definitely be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

We are delighted to hear you have returned to Carwinley Mill House Cottage for the third time.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the cottage, found the property to be well equipped for your stay and enjoyed the hot tub.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Carwinley Mill House Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo J
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more... First Class”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from simply the best week at Carwinley Mill Cottage. From the moment we arrived, the welcome could not have been warmer from Danielle, Trevor and the dogs! We arrived to a bottle of bubbly, fresh milk and home made chocolate brownies..mmm!
The cottage is beautiful, superbly equipped and the hot tub just tops it!
We must give a very special thank you to Danielle and Trevor for being the most wonderful hosts. Not only did they act as witnesses at our wedding in Gretna, but they took us there in their Range Rover, ribboned up just for us and also provided champagne on the way and then decorated the cottage with balloons and banners for our return after the wedding. They really did go the extra mile, and we will be returning for our anniversary if not before!!

Thank you for a wonderful week!

Kevin & Jo Jennings x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the brilliant hosts
Liked least: Nothing! It was brilliant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

We are delighted you had the best week at Carwinley Mill House Cottage and enjoyed your wedding celebrations!

We have passed on your comments to the owner of the property to make them aware of your lovely feedback.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Carwinley Mill House Cottage very soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the use of the Hot Tub to your liking.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GraceL996
Lanarkshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Quiet peaceful break”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We just wanted a few days away to unwind and chill out, this is the place to go for exactly that. It's a small cottage for 2 people it has a full equipped kitchen , bathroom, bedroom and living room, it's also got the added bonus of a hot tub to soak away your aches and pains . It is very private and quiet with only the noise of birdsong which was quite nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The size of the tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Carwinley Mill House

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and enjoyed the use of the hot tub.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Dec 2013
Thank you for your review of Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

We are delighted to learn you loved your stay at the property including the hot tub and the location of the property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Carwinley Mill House Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you for your feedback of Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

We are delighted to read the property lived up to your high expectations!

Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcome you back to Carwinley Mill house Cottage in the future!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackburn & Garstang
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review on Carwinley Mill House Cottage.

Your review was a delight to read and we are pleased to hear that this property met all your requirements.The owners are on hand to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to welcome you back to Carwinley Mill House Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing