We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of March Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canonbie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
March Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canonbie
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I have stayed with a group of 'guns' at this hotel in early December for the last 5 years. It is clean, warm and welcoming with great food. Richard, owner and chef is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. The bar is well stocked and comfortable.
The biggest surprise comes when you check out; it is very reasonable and a few of us actually thought is was more expensive to stay at home!
If you want a base from which to carry out activities in the area or simply a staging post when travelling, you couldn't ask for a better all round place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is well worth a visit if you are looking for somewhere to eat in the area as the food in the restaurant is excellent. We found the rooms very clean and well serviced albeit somewhat sparsely furnished. Larger screen T.V. screen a must and new pillows desperately required, otherwise very comfortable and well located hotel with very welcoming owners. Would definately stay again if in the area.providing new pillows had been purchased.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supplier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and once again it does not disappoint. We always seem to get room 5, which is brilliant. The owners are continually looking to tweek things and two comfy swivel chairs replaced the alreadycomortable settee in the bay window overlooking the hotel grounds. As always, everything is spotlessly clean.
The food is superb and reasonably priced and breakfast always gives a wide choice to set you up for the day.
Everyone is very friendly and make you feel part of the 'family'.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - BUT PLEASE LEAVE ROOM 5 FREE FOR OUR NEXT VISIT!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a four poster and lovely view over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreedenceClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a small (7 bedroomed) family run hotel perched on the side of a valley with spectacular views of the Esk valley. We have stayed at the March Bank every year for about 15 years and have always come away smiling. The food is reliably excellent with plenty of fish and seasonal game on the menu. Unlike many restaurants you get loads of veg cooked perfectly (not boiled to death) and the portion size of meat or fish are very generous. Lots of restaurants buy in their puds, but not here, it is all made on site and delicious. The breakfast menu gives you plenty of choice as well as a full english breakfast you can also have scrambled egg with smoked salmon or kippers as well as the usual cereals and toast etc. The wine list is good and very reasonably priced and the service is always very efficient and friendly. The rooms have recently been renovated and redecorated as has the bar area and there is always plenty of hot water and the rooms are cosy warm. Richard and Clare are very welcoming and really helpful and if you are very lucky you might get a glimpse of their delightful children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michnoquetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and this one didn't disappoint. A warm welcome, great room and excellent food.

A tripadvisor leaflet in the bedroom urging guests to leave feedback which can only mean one thing - nothing to hide, and there wasn't. Very clean, throughout.

Full English breakfast wasn't piled up on the plate as per usual, but lovingly made with wholesome quality ingredients.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchalps2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This country house hotel is a hidden gem. The rooms are newly refurbished and extremely comfortable and it has been a pleasure to return once again to find the same warm friendly welcome from Mr and Mrs Moore. We enjoyed the evening meal which surpassed all of our expectations. Chef takes full advantage of local quality produce and his expertise in the kitchen is reflected in the satisfaction of the diners. We enjoyed a hearty full english breakfast in the morning before sadly bidding the Marchbank farewell until our next visit.

Room Tip: Four poster room at the front has alovely view down to the river but they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions. It is a quiet peaceful hotel. The food is fabulous. However the reputation of the hotel is based on the hospitality of the owner and staff. They are the most helpful, welcoming, hosts one could ever wish to meet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canonbie
5.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.9 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
148 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
871 reviews
5.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
404 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to March Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about March Bank Hotel

Property: March Bank Hotel
Address: Marchbank Cottage Scots DYKE, VIA, Canonbie DG14 0TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Canonbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canonbie
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
March Bank Hotel Canonbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing