We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden gem of a campsite!”
Review of Ken Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem of a campsite!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We camped at the Ken Bridge for 2 nights and would recommend it to anyone. Really is a fantastic site in a beautiful setting and right next to a pub! Brilliant!
Firstly the staff, very friendly and helpful!
The site itself, very pleasant, tidy and well maintained.
The location, right on the water of Ken... My boyfriend was devastated he hadn't packed any fishing gear as fishing on the bank is included with the cost of camping. A short drive to castle douglas and lots of lovely walking routes. We took a trek up to the Red Kite viewing platform only to discover on returning the to site that the kites had been flying over head there all day... Typical!!
The site facilities, adequate for the small site and kept clean and tidy.
Overall we were incredibly happy with our stay here and will be stopping again should we find ourselves up that way.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
47
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The welcome was very friendly - the rooms very comfortable with really good en-suite facilities. I had trouble with my knee and was allowed to use a bath - heaven for anyone doing the Southern Upland Way! Our room overlooked the river which was hypnotic! We stayed two nights and both evenings we ate in the restaurant and had delicious meals in fact the standard of everything was excellent! There is a very comfortable residents lounge - which we didn't use as we were drawn to the friendly ambiance of the bar which stocked a great selections of whiskey! I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed on campsite on way to a local event. The site is a hidden gem , well manicured on the Banks of the River Ken . We were offered and accepted an invite for free fishing . I usually carry a telescopic rod in my boot anyway. (Lost a good size pike due to poor quality imported Lure !). The site and hotel were unusually quiet for the time of year,an obvious sign of the times. The owners were very friendly,sociable and jacks of all trades ! The food was great and the steak and ale pie deserves a special mention. Hope to return with family next time .

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyv119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I and a group of friends make an annual pilgrimage to the golf courses of Dumfries and have always stayed at the Ken Bridge. We cannot praise this hostelry too highly. Being located 300 miles to the South in Sassenachland we have sometimes debated whether we should go somewhere local instead, but always come to the same conclusion that nowhere else is likely to live up to the Ken Bridge standards.

Dave and Sue are always so friendly and welcoming: the bar with its selection of real ales and whiskies is superb, and we cannot compliment the food highly enough. The Full Scottish is a great start to the day, and the dinner menu is superb. Just a shame about the golf in between. Be sure not to miss the Cullen Skank if it's on the special board (hint hint).

I am surprised at one reviewer's comments about the rooms being basic. They are bright and airy, always spotlessly clean and much better since the upgrade to Freeview TV. I have no hesitation is recommending this little gem of a hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfBoy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The setting for this little hotel is just great, right on the river. The staff are really lovely and welcoming and the food is good - better than average pub grub.

There are a selection of rooms and some are nicer than others but all of them are good rooms (I've stayed here a lot with work) ask for the river view and you won't be disappointed.

Although my trips here have been for work it's the type of place I would come with my partner for a little country break.

Room Tip: Ask for river view for best room - it's just been modernised Room one has best internet signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lost count how many times we have visited the Ken Bridge during the 9 years since we moved to Auldgirth, near Dumfries, but we went again today. Although a round trip of nearly 80 miles - even in these times of expensive fuel etc - it was still worth every penny. The restaurant was spotless; the staff helpful; and the chef - well if you'd tasted the roast gammon joint, you'd know just how good he is. The Beef was every bit as tasty - all the meat was tender, full of flavour - just perfect - the veg choice complemented the meats and the Yorkshire puds were great (I should know I come from Yorkshire!!!). My wife and I both had the king prawns with dipping sauce - a perfect light starter to leave room for the main course to follow. We're not fans of puddings in general so did not sample that course - could have overfilled ourselves anyway. The white wine was beautifully chilled, as indeed was the Guinness. The only thing wrong with the Ken Bridge is that it is not near to where we live - but heigh ho somethings are just worth the journey. Keep on doing what you do at the Ken Bridge and we'll be coming back many times in the years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auldgirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

My wife ordered the gigot of lamb - it came very rare and we requested that it be further cooked to remove the blood- it came back still bleeding and inedible

- when we mentioned this again we were told that this is how it was served there + total absence of listening to what the customer wanted - very poor and amateurish service - will never return

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clive987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ken Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
It is disappointing that you felt the need to criticise in this fashion. The dish in question is a marinated, leg of lamb steak and we sold 20 of these in the two days that it was on our specials board. I myself had one and thought it to be quite delicious and because it is served rare, very tender.

It would have been better had the lady asked for a different dish rather than ask for it to be cooked on, we would have been quite happy to have done this. We had nothing but compliments from the other diners who sampled this dish.

The New Collins Concise Dictionary – simply states - inedible – not fit to be eaten

The dish was clearly not inedible, just cooked in a fashion which was not to the lady’s liking, it was clearly stated on the specials’ board that it would be served rare; it was explained by our staff that it would be served rare and no surprises we served it rare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Galloway
16.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
356 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
470 reviews
16.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
18.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B
Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most ...
#1 of 3 in St. John's Town of Dalry
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ken Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken Bridge Hotel

Property: Ken Bridge Hotel
Address: New Galloway DG7 3PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ken Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Ken Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ken Bridge Hotel New Galloway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing