We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ken Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Welcoming Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ken Bridge Hotel and from the word go we knew we were in for a great weekend. We were met by Sue who owns the hotel with her husband Dave and were shown up to the bedroom, when we opened the bedroom door we couldn't believe our luck as the window looked out onto the river with the bridge to the right. The weather certainly helped to make the weekend as we sat outside for quite some time during the day prior to going in for dinner and the food was first class on both nights. The traditional Scottish breakfast's really set us up for the day, which meant that we only needed a snack at lunch time. Our thanks go out to Sue, Dave and their staff for making our weekend. Can't wait to book this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 3 which overlooked the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
45
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nr Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having stayed here a number of times over the years, I can honestly say that it is always a pleasure staying here.... from the comfort of the rooms to the witty banter with Dave and Sue to the wonderful food they serve.

I can only say Im looking forward to next time I visit.

Thanks Sue and Dave
(Mr Ed)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigfootAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Having driven past this hotel several times during our weeks holiday, we decided to call in for Sunday dinner. What a pleasant surprise. Service friendly, food great. Would def visit again when in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lord_n_lady_weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norht YORKSHIRE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We ate here twice in 3 days! There were 2 adults & 2 children the first evening we called just after 5.30 even though it was early we were welcomed in we choose to sit in the Dining room which is lovely overlooking the river. The children were really well looked after there was plenty for them to eat and they really enjoyed their ice cream pudding both our meals were excellent. There was not a long wait at all. We decided to call again on the Wednesday as it had been so good earlier in the week, the bar was busier but we again sat in the restaurant kids were again looked after and so were we this time we just about managed a starter and main (good portions!) the other half said his steak was delicious and cooked to a tee, I has the Chicken and Haggis with whisky peppercorn sauce, I highly recommend this!
Next time we are near we will defiantly call again we may even camp as it is such a lovely spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skoska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Upon arrival at this wonderful hotel, received a very warm welcome. Even though I turned up about 8.15ish, I was offered the full menu even though the kitchen closed in 15 minutes.

My meal was exactly what I asked for and extremely satisfying. Even though I'm a big guy. The meat just melted in my mouth. Mmm.

The staff in the hotel were extremely curtious and professional, nothing was a hassle for them.

I went to bed and woke up a solid 7 hours later, I was ecstatic as I haven't slept like in years. So much so I even got the make of the pillows from the owners.

Breakfast was superb. All freshly made and quick service. Lovely to find a hotel that actually knows what a real Scottish breakfast is.

So all in all SUPERB and thank you for a great night.

Oh and on another note for the bad reviewers. You can say what you feel on here after the time has passed. Just say to the staff what your issues are and I certainly think they will bend over backwards to give you the experience you are after.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suds2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

After reading the brilliant reviews we decided to eat here tonight and what a big mistake that was!!
To start with, the tower burger was off the menu (delivery not received), however we were offered a chicken alternative. When it arrived it was a couple of breaded burgers 'straight from the freezer' and not the chicken breast I had expected for £10.95. Another of our group ordered the steak and asked for salad instead of chips (£17.95). When this came the steak looked good and was tasty however there was a handful of chopped salad on the side. Presentation = nil points. After questionning the waitress as to the whereabouts of the tomato, mushrooms and onion rings, she went through to enquire and was told the chef would prepare them now. They later followed.
Another of the party was happy with their meal.
Throughout the meal we were never asked did we want any sauces, any drinks or even if the meal was to our satisfaction. When the table was cleared we ended up going to the bar to pay the bill after sitting 15 minutes expecting the bill. We didn't really want coffee......
On leaving the premises there was a sign at the door saying 'restaurant fully booked'. We found this hard to believe as apart from ourselves there were only two other tables inside in the restaurant which were taken when we left at 8.30pm.
We will not be back.

Ps. The Abbots Ale went down a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

4 of us ate here over the weekend on both Friday and Saturday evenings. The cask ales were all excellent without exception but were all a bit hazy.

On the Friday we had 4 excellent meals. Starters of Broccoli and Stilton soup, pate and prawns were all very good. The leg of lamb with new potatoes & fresh veg was quite superb along with the goats cheese tart. The veggie option of hazelnut roast was poor by comparison. A very good portion of cheese & biscuits and some decent wine rounded off an excellent meal with great service by the 2 very pleasant young waitresses.

Saturday was a disappointment. They were unable to cope with a busy night very well. Consequently we had to wait 45 minutes for orders to be taken and even longer to get any food. The starters were still reasonable. The sirloin steaks were very thin and not cheap at 17.95 each. I would say they were about 6 ozs at best. The chips were overcooked to the point where they shattered in your mouth when you bit on them.

Saturday's poor service and food took the shine off the good meal on Friday night.

Breakfast was offered at 10.95 per head for campers. Consequently they didn't sell many if any. Surely 20 breakfast sales at 7 quid beats 2 or 3 at 11 quid. It makes you wonder how people stay in business with this attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganScotland, Owner at Ken Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
This review has taken the shine off the first and probably last Ariel owners rally at the Ken Bridge.

Having been persuaded by the organisers to allow free camping (normally £15 per adult) for the weekend and then to have such criticism is simply tiresome.

The breakfast at £10.95 has 9 separate items on the plate along with unlimited toast, tea and coffee and is exceedingly popular with fishermen, shooters and other campers. As an Ariel member this person was well aware that we also offered tea and coffee at £1.00 per mug and filled rolls from £2.50.

As with all weekends when we have a large group of campers in, plus booked tables and walk ins and residents in the hotel, we often find that lots of people want to eat at around the same time and Saturday was quite busy.

The steak is a prime Scottish sirloin from our local butchers at 8 to 10oz uncooked weight. You say the beer is excellent but then have to suggest that it was hazy. Excellent is excellent. We had no complaints about food, beer or service over the weekend and did not expect to.

It makes us wonder how we stay in business with your attitude, no appreciation for the free camping with hot water, shower, toilets and dish washing area all in an idyllic setting, I suspect that the price of camping at our site will be too expensive for you and the other club members in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Galloway
16.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
16.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
22.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ken Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken Bridge Hotel

Property: Ken Bridge Hotel
Address: New Galloway DG7 3PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ken Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ken Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ken Bridge Hotel New Galloway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing