We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Hull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Ferriby
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Outstanding food, service & ambiance just needs a decent marketing manager to publicise this fact... With food of this standard it should've been queuing out if the door. As it was , only four tables were sat at..
The Sunday lunch was everything we could've asked for and more. Can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank missymlincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent Sunday Lunch at the Hallmark Hotel. I hope that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Humber Bridge whilst dining!

The Brasserie is starting to gain a greater popularity for our non residents; with Valentines being very busy already for this Weekend!

The Team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    288
    137
    77
    47
See reviews for
139
384
21
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

A friend and I visited the Hallmark North Ferriby last weekend for a Spa Break0, we chose the Holistic Package which consisted of overnight stay, 55 minute massage, use of facilities, 3 course evening meal and buffet style breakfast.
We had our treatments booked simultaneously at 12 noon, we arrived in time for our treatments and were offered early check-in so we could go straight to our room which was excellent.
The room was very nicely decorated and clean.
The relaxation suite was very nice and comfortable and we both enjoyed our massages. My therapist Nicole was excellent can't rate her highly enough.
The sauna and gym are obviously new and well kept.
The 3 course evening meal and breakfast were excellent, plenty of choice and nice staff. Overall very good value at £90. We worked out from price lists that the meals and treatment added up to around £90 individually so you basically get the overnight stay for free with this deal.
On balance a few thing could've been improved (but this is me being picky). The bar was busy during the day due to wedding party guests arriving. They needed more staff on, the Afternoon Tea we ordered did not consist of the vegetarian sandwiches we asked for but this was rectified immediately by the staff.
We had to be moved in the middle of the night due to the noise coming from a vent on the roof in the wind, we were moved immediately by a very helpful gentleman again with no fuss. We heard of someone being moved from their room due to the draft from a window also, maintenance of the building features in a few of the other reviews too which is a shame because the hotel is nicely decorated and has excellent views.
I agree the experience would be improved with a Jacuzzi / pool but for the money this is great value and I would recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review; I am delighted that you have recently "Discovered" the Hallmark Hotel; and that you have enjoyed a recent "Pamper" Break.

It's great to hear that you were able to gain early access to your room (this is something we do try to accommodate; however always subject to availability).

I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your Pamper Treatments; and will certainly credit Nicole with your feedback. Our facilities are New; and I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the Relaxation Suite, Gym and Sauna.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the weather conditions during your stay; our Maintenance Manager has reviewed the guest rooms following your stay.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular views; it is one of the key reasons why our guests choose the hotel for the unique Humber Estuary views.

The Team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I purchased a Wowcher Champagne afternoon tea for myself & 2 friends costing £32 apparently up to 51% saving on the normal price. We were given a table with a lovely view of the river but there was a howling gale coming through the glazed door due to a large gap in the door frame, so bad it was blowing the napkins off the table. We would have asked to move but the whole area was cold.The service was excellent but the food very poor & bore no resemblance to the image shown on the Wowcher site. There was a small quantity of minute sandwiches,the scones were miniature with one small container of cream to share between 3 people, not sufficient even with the small scones, no cupcakes as shown on the advert. It was not worth £32 & if they charged the price stated it would be day light robbery. Do not purchase this voucher. Only redeeming fact was the pleasant & efficient staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcatdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent visit to the Hallmark Hotel. Your feedback will be shared with our Head Chef.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your recent experience at the Hallmark Hotel. Our Afternoon Teas are extremely popular; whether being enjoyed in the lounge or as part of our Pamper Days; so it is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I am pleased that you found our Team pleasant and efficient.

Kind Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Positives : Breakfast was very good, selection of fruits, cereal & yoghurt .Cooked full English breakfast, very nice.The evening meal we chose was very nice and tasty. The staff were friendly.
The Relaxation room was just that.The room was very clean and warm .
The disappointment was realising the Sauna was 1 cabin !,there was no Spa and no swimming pool ( I did ask a member of the staff if " only the larger Hallmark Hotels had a swimming Pool ?"
to this I was told the Manchester one had a swimming pool.The greater amount of guests staying were attending a wedding evening reception if that had not been held during the time of our stay there would have been very few guests.The location was a taxi ride or car ride to any other venue.
This is the 1st time of using a `coupon Break` but next time will be checking Google Earth .

Room Tip: Research Location on Google Earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback; and for Discovering the Hallmark Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining in our Brasserie for Breakfast & Dinner; and hope you enjoyed the fabulous views of the Humber Estuary. I am pleased to hear that you found our Team friendly.

We are located a mere 5 minute drive into the City Centre of Hull; with immediate access to the A63 - which I hope you found beneficial whilst visiting the area.

On behalf of the Hallmark Team; we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel has been refurbished since we where married at this hotel in April 2009, and they have done a first rate job.
The evening and food where first class, the staff where great, but the party finished at 12.30 only half an hour after midnight not good, we where then asked to go up to the bar area. If only the disco had gone on to 1.30am or 1 am at least !! The staff could have cleared the tables around us. That was the only problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH86Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
I am so delighted that you re-visited the Hallmark Hotel; and yes we have enjoyed a £3.5 million make-over!

Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Hotel for your New Year's Eve Celebrations; and delighted to hear that you found the event enjoyable and our Team members great.

I hope to look forward to welcoming you to celebrate into 2015!

Kindest Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We visited this hotel as we received a voucher for a wedding present for a one night break and tapas for two.

On first arrival, the hotel seemed well kept even though the main automatic doors were broken, not fully open or not fully closed. We walked in, to find no one on reception. Once we found a staff member from the bar to get the receptionist, we were allocated room 106. We were advised of the location of the tapas we had booked (in the brassiere) and times of breakfast, then we went to the room.

On arrival to the room the bathroom window has a crack diagonal from corner to corner and the main bedroom window did not close as it had dropped and could not be lifted. We immediately went back to reception and was offered another room.

We then had room 220, which on comparison was a lot warmer and slightly bigger. All seemed ok. About 5.30 we went into the brasserie for tapas, to find it was empty and were them told it was actually held in the lounge. We brought drinks in the bar and then we're given plates to help ourselves to the tapas. The £3.50 per person portion consisted of sliced sausages, mozzarella balls, tomatoes, bread and 2 sauces. Limited quantity and not what we expected for the price.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, however we did visit a local restaurant chain. On arrival back to the hotel that evening, we walked in and the receptionist didn't even look up from what she appeared to be reading at the front desk.

Once we got back to the room, it was warm and well decorated, however the old style iron pipes that run around the edges of the room crack and creak loudly throughout the night. The bed was comfy, although a little soft, and we slept well on a torn bed sheet. We also found dirty/stained towels which were folded in the wardrobe.

In the morning we had breakfast in the brassiere which was probably the best of the experiences of our stay. There was a large variety of food available and drinks on hand.

To be honest we have had better service at the premier in ten mins up the road and expected better service from a higher quality chain of hotels. I wouldn't have been happy paying the prices they charge for the service we received.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LO1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent visit to the Hallmark Hotel.

I am disappointed to learn that you didn't "Discover" the true Hallmark Experience; equally this is felt amongst our Department Heads.

During your stay we were addressing a mechanical issue with our front doors; which was unexpected. Guest information was visible to apologise for the inconvenience. The linen has been reviewed; and sincerely apologise for the oversight on this occasion; along with maintenance with the Bedroom window.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of our Brasserie during Breakfast; we do pride ourselves on ensuring that we offer a hearty and fulfilling Buffet Breakfast. I hope that you enjoyed the magnificent views of the Humber Bridge whilst dining!

Our Team receive regular feedback on how personable the Hallmark Hotel is; and hope that you will provide me with the opportunity to Welcome you back to Discvoer the true Hallmark Experience.

I do hope that you will re-consider visiting Hull again and the Hallmark Hotel. Please kindly contact me direclty if you would like to arrange a future stay.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,

Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have just returned from an over night stay at the Hallmark and I must say we were very impressed from start to finish. Very friendly staff on reception and throughout the hotel. The room was very nicely furnished and cosy with a nice view of the Humber bridge, the only thing that let the room down was the bed, it did sink a little in the middle but we still had a good nights sleep.We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did see a few bar meals coming out while we were sat in the bar and they looked lovely. Breakfast was really nice, with everything you could want and more, I particularly liked the fresh fruit and Danish pastries! We would return to this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena W, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I am delighted that you have been impressed by our Hotel and friendly Staff.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your guest room; a number of our rooms take advantage of the wonderful views of the Humber Bridge and Estuary - and hope you enjoyed the views from the Window Seat.

It's great to hear that you would return to the Hallmark; the Team look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ferriby
2.6 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hull West Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Hull

Property: Hallmark Hotel Hull
Address: Ferriby High Road, North Ferriby HU14 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > North Ferriby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Ferriby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Hull 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eclectic mix of 28 4 Star hotels located around the England & Scotland; specialising in being the "Home of Great Hospitality". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull North Ferriby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing