We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
courtneyb...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Had a lovely time, cabin was nice and cozy, and had an amazing welcome into the cabin. And the view and surrounding area was very scenic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel770...
1 review
“Special accommodation in a straw bale cabin”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in September 2017

I've stayed in the straw bale cabin several times over a number of years and also in the eco pods (basic single room accommodation). Carol, the host, was always most welcoming and helpful ensuring my stay went well. The accommodation has recently been improved with a TV but was already of a high standard. The cabin is adjacent to a pool which features local wildlife and the two farm cats who keep to themselves. There are bicycles available and local walking opportunities which are highlighted in the plentiful visitor information in the cabin. Howden rail station is around a 15 minute walk away, offering regular services to Hull to the east, Leeds to the west and York to the north-west. Numerous opportunities for visits to places of interest inland and on the coast. I shall be staying there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cosy retreat”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our weekend away at the cabin was perfect. You can't help but relax in such a beautiful tranquil setting, it was lovely sitting outside with a cup of tea watching the swallows diving over the pond. The cabin felt much bigger than it looked from the outside, and was better than we imagined from the photos. The lovely deepset windows gave it a cosy feel and everything was clean and fresh. We had a great day out in York one day and walked round Howden the other, both had lots of character, though we could have done with another day in York to see everything. Joe was really helpful. We will definitely come back again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally R
1 review
“The most relaxing stay in a stylish country cabin, just perfect!”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Since my last stay the cabin has been beautifully refurbished whilst still retaining that calming, relaxing, home away from home feel. Very well appointed, cosy and spotless, always a pleasure to stay in a straw home.
It's a joy to watch the birds from the deck each morning and to settle in to a quieter way of life for a few days.
Buttercup is very well placed for heading off to York and the Yorkshire coast and I would thoroughly recommend it. Great cottage, great hosts and excellent, convenient location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing