We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Minster View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minster View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed at Minster View last night,a very warm welcome from the owners,the room was lovely,spotlessly clean and looked freshly decorated.breakfast was full english and very nice too.will definatly stay here again,a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vale46WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here last summer, and it was the best! As a matter of fact, it was so good, I came back again for even longer! The rooms were freshly redone and had a tea tray all ready for you to enjoy. The free wifi is perfect to keep in touch with family and friends. The pub was everything you could possibly want in a REAL ENGLISH pub... and the food is to die for! Ian and Eve run the hotel and pub, and are the best people you would ever want to stay with. They take you in as family, and can't do enough for you. Ian is the best cook (he won't let you call him a chef... but he IS!) in all of the UK. I visited most of the UK and Ireland and never had a meal equal to his. And Eve is a real sweetheart. She can't do enough for her guests. They really know how to make someone feel welcome. The rooms are spotlessly clean, as is the entire establishment. The bus stop just down the road was great for daytrips, and the train station is a pleasant walk a couple of miles away. Although Ian and Eve probably will not let you walk, unless you insist! The "village" of Howden is what you daydream about spending time in, and the locals are great. And.. of course there is the perfect view of the Minster right across the road! I will absolutely be back as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: Any room you get, you will love!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_az_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This pub / bed & breakfast has a warm and welcoming community that immediately took me in when I stayed here for the month. While there I enjoyed the free wireless internet, clean rooms, good beer, friendly locals, sunday quiz night, and the option of eating dinner around a table with the other customers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveJunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Ten weary cyclists made to feel really welcome from the moment we arrived on a Sunday night. Real ale and good pub accommodation with a great location. Apologies to your locals - our team won the quiz by one point! Stop here on the Trans Pennine Trail.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iapetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2006

My mother, aunt and myself stayed here for 2 nights in April when we visited the Selby game fair, we found it very clean, nothing fancy, but very friendly and helpfull. The bedrooms had tea and coffe making facilities, some had showers. It was centrally located and within walking distance to other pubs and eating places. The price was very good we paid only £20./ night for B&B. We would certainly stay here again.
And their directions given over the phone were spot on.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sootyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#3 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Cottages
Apple Tree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Howden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saltmarshe Hall
Saltmarshe Hall
#1 of 1 in Howden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster View Hotel

Property: Minster View Hotel
Address: 2-3 Corn Market Hill, Howden DN14 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Howden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Minster View Hotel Howden, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing