We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013 Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walkington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broadgate Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was the third annual trip for my partner's birthday and nothing has changed from our first experience. Upon booking initially for the first time we though that maybe the pictures on the website were too good to be true however, upon arrival we were not disapointed and haven't been since. If anything, the pictures do not do it justice. A beautiful peaceful retreat and just what the doctor orders after the hustle and bustle of every day life. Please visit the village too as it is rather lovely as is Beverley. The owner, Elaine, is very friendly and always on hand with advice should you need it. If you need somewhere really special to go and eat, please try The PIpe and Glass in a neighbouring village. A small Michelin star pub with a beautiful ambience to it, great service and fantastic food.

Roll on October 2014!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bn230503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Rented cottages at Broadgate as we were in E Yorkshire for a family reunion. I needed accommodation for six adults (me, husband 2 adults sons and their partners) plus a family dog. The cottages were very welcoming and warm. Kitchens were well equipped with quality utensils and plenty of crockery. Sitting rooms have comfy sofas that DON'T sag. Lovely bathrooms. Well appointed bedrooms with really comfortable large beds, this is a very big plus as my husband and sons are over 6' and often find rental properties have smaller, poor quality beds. Each cottage has a private court yard which would be great in the summer, even in late October we had grapes on the grapevine in the courtyard.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorthQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I arranged for my overseas relatives to stay in two of these cottages, the Foldyard and the Stables. Six people in all. They were very happy there, and found everything they needed, in a location close to Beverley. The Foldyard is all on the ground floor, ideal for elderly or those not good at walking. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and made them welcome.
The rural views, and sheep at hand, were interesting to the overseas visitors.

I did not stay there myself but visited daily during 6 days - I live locally.

It would be possible to stay here using buses, bicycles or walking to Beverley, but really better with a car. There is a village shop about 3/4 mile one way, and the town 1 1/4 miles the other.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We held our wedding and reception nearby to the cottages, and spoke with the owners about having photographs in their grounds during the afternoon, as well as renting a cottage for the weekend - the owners couldn't have been nicer with allowing us to do pretty much everything we wanted - including bringing 20 or so guests along with us in the afternoon whilst we did our wedding photos in their grounds.

The cottages and grounds are amazing, we stayed in the 'foldyard' cottage which had its own private courtyard garden which was perfect for our photos.

Couldn't rate this place high enough if i tried, totally recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just got back from a long weekend staying in the Granary. We fell in love with the place as soon as we pulled up! The cottage is absolutely immaculate and faultless. Extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need- including tea, coffee, sugar and Milk!

Breath taking views and a delightful private patio garden. Also just a short walk into Walkington which is a gorgeous little village! The owner Elaine was very helpful and on hand should we require anything!

We will definitely be returning later on this year and have already recommended to friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked 3 of these cottages for our daughter's wedding so that we could house all the bridesmaids and most of the bride's relatives for a week. This worked out wonderfully because the largest cottage featured an open plan sitting and dining area and kitchen where we could all mix and match.
The best feature of these cottages are the fixtures and fittings which are of high class and quality. Beds are comfortable and entertainment is on tap with large screen TVs and an extensive paperback library in each cottage. Cooking and washing is catered for in the fully equipped kitchens. Bathrooms up and down matched the bedrooms - almost as good as en-suite really. Each cottage has a private outside courtyard for dining or relaxing in the sun. Lovely.
For me, being tall, the only downside was the restricted headroom to the sides of some of the bedrooms which have sloped down from the roof. You may also notice a bit of traffic noise if you spend a lot of time outside the front of the cottages.
Overall it's difficult to fault these cottages as places to stay to explore this part of Yorkshire. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullTrippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

So pleased that you all enjoyed your week with us and thank you for the wine you left for us it was such a nice gesture! Of the 11 bedrooms you booked it is such a shame that your group put you in the one room that had partially sloping ceilings - if you join us again we will have to make sure that you get one of the other rooms! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our extended family of sixteen spent a wonderful week at Broadgate Cottages this July, 2013. We rented three of the cottages for a week, and a fourth when bridesmaids arrived for the wedding, which was the reason for our stay. The lovely cottage, "The Granary", was the perfect place for the bride and bridesmaids to enjoy wedding breakfast and get ready for the wedding.
The Cottages are an easy, scenic walk from downtown Beverley (or a five minute drive.) All the cooking equipment and dishes you could possibly need for self catering are available in the kitchens of the cottage, and the cottages are immaculately clean!
From Beverley, we did several easy day trips to explore Yorkshire including Pikering steam train journey to Whitby, Castle Howard, and, of course, York. The beach just a short drive from Beverley.
Beverley itself is fun to explore, especially the Minster. Not only did we get to experience the wonderful wedding there, but the whole family enjoyed a tour of the Minster including the Tower. Some of our party golfed on the course right near Broadgate Cottages, and we all enjoyed watching the sheep and cattle that are pastured nearby.
Each Cottage has a lovely private back garden area, and there is green space out front to sit quietly and watch the sheep - or to kick a football!
...Whether you want a quiet holiday or lots of action, it is the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: "The Barn" accommodates the most people, so that is where the family with children stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiga229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walkington
2 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#1 of 15 in Beverley
362 reviews
1 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadgate Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadgate Farm Cottages

Address: Broadgate Farm Beverley Road, Walkington, Beverley HU17 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley > Walkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Walkington
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadgate Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five delightful barn conversions on our farm overlooking open fields just 2 miles from Beverley. Two, three, four & six bedroom cottages 4 star Gold Award or 5 star Gold Award. Arrival any day for weekly lets and short breaks. Free wifi, ground floor bedrooms, free sat HD TV, private gardens and farm animals. WINNERS 2013, 2015 & 2016 REYTA Tourism awards and Highly Commended White Rose Awards 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadgate Farm Cottages Walkington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing