We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essex Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were impressed by the receptioniston arrival -very efficient. I chose to stay here mainly because it had a pool and it was the hottest day in July.
Having read the reviews I thought it would be a good find. In hindsight I wish we had gone elsewhere.
The room was clean and large but the bed and pillows very uncomfortable - bed hard and pillows flat. Walls thin so you can hear from sides and above. We were on ground floor and design of windows meant we could not leave them open when we were out. This meant the room was hot and stuffy. Curtains don't keep light out so hope you don't want a lie in!
The menu was more of a cafe menu and prices seamed reasonable. It didn't inspire us to eat there so went out. Because the place is quite remote you have to drive between 5-10 mins to find somewhere. I found drinks pricey. Over £5 for coke and orange squash and lemonade! Breakfast was better than we thought it would be and staff friendly.
Gym seemed good but didn't have time to use. Pool was small but functional - not relaxing though.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longlegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are passed onto the relevant departmental managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here saturday on the 30th june.We had a really good sat and sunday.Played the big course on saturday and thought it was in a really good condition.Its a long course playing around 6650 yards so you need to be on your a game.Played the smaller course which is called the garden and was pleasantly surprised how good it was.Its only 2100 yards long(PAR 34) 9 holes,so we went round twice.Didnt have dinner there at the restaurant but wished we did now as the indian we tried up the road wasnt that great.Breakfast was ok and the staff as usual couldnt do enough for you. Can i say a big thank you to James for inviting us back again and make sure you give your staff a pay rise this year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruggerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed one night whilst visitiing friends in Colchester.
Found reception helpful,room quiet and well equipped.
Nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Nice overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryalSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night and once there reception was a long wait for a member of staff to check me in. When I got to my room I booked the county suite [the large room in the hotel] and once in there well it was very poorly deco... The bathroom was so small for a large room it also had no bath tub and plaques on the wall half falling of. the blinds in the room are see through so any one on the golf corse could see you in the nude... but you also get a great view of the wonderful golf corse which any one can use. the beds are as hard as a rock and could not get good night sleep. I also found a dead beetle behind the bathroom door. we went swimming and one of the best pools ever i have ever swam in. The next morning we had breakfast and it was warm but there was no bread left for toast and we needed to ask.

over all stay was not brillant...

By Tom age 10 a wana be Hotel inspector.

Room Tip: chose a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed all comments to the relevant departments, in order that we can look to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Room clean and reasonable.Breakfast the worst I have ever had in a hotel.Got to breakfast at 9.30am (open until 10am at weekends).On arrival,no glasses for fruit juice,no orange juice left,no fruit salad left,no cereal bowls,no plates,no baked beans left.After about 10 mins waiting,a small amount of crockery arrived but was soon used up.Staff disinterested until about 2 minutes past 10am when they very efficiently quickly moved all the food back into the kitchen (presumably for the staff to eat).Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kpbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here from May 22-June 5.
My husband,son and I had a great experience and we have to send a special thanķ you to all the girls at the front desķ and most of all to Bruce,Stuart,Sacha and Guy upstairs at the Pulse restaurant. You all are truely amazing people. Always was greated with a smile. Thank you from the three of us!
For the previous posting which had some ridicus complaints serious now some people need to get a reality check.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Asĸ for a fan. Other then that all is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwayscourious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thankyou very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The quality of food at breakfast was beautiful which was probably my only very positive comment.

Didnt like the absolutely appalling and chaotic service at breakfast, the buffet kept running out of food (staff brought out tiny portions to refill the buffet table), the tables were full of debris of previous occupants and they werent cleared (we were in there an hour trying to get food and they hadnt been cleared), our own table was full of the previous occupants used plates and cups and despite asking 3 times for this to be cleared it wasnt! Did complain to a member of staff who just told me that they werent allowed more staff and were doing the best they could and the next day would be equally as bad. Stayed 2 nights and the room wasnt cleaned/refreshed during our stay, and dont even attempt to arrive after reception closes as nobody seems to know what to do, overall the staff were pleasant but nobody cared enough to deliver a quality customer service, we werent even asked on check out whether everything had been ok etc, just pay and go. This would be my last choice hotel despite having family living in the village close by and regularly staying in hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earls Colne
4.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
15.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
19.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
936 reviews
5 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Golf & Country Club

Address: Earls Colne Business Centre Airfield, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essex Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Golf & Country Club Hotel Earls Colne
Essex Golf And Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing