We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit and we will be going back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwells - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blackwells
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First visit and we will be going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We visited Blackwells at the suggestion of our friends, who we met there on a weekday lunchtime. Although not busy on the day we visited, we understand that lunchtimes can be busy during the week, so probably best to book in advance. The young lady working the bar and serving the food was extremely pleasant and efficient. We had pre-lunch drinks in very comfortable lounge chairs and the decor was very relaxing. The bar had two real ales on offer, both from a local brewer. Very nice beer. We were given plenty of time to order and to their credit, were willing to prepare separate mash potatoes for my wife, who cannot eat butter. The menu was very interesting, but strangely did not have a chicken option. Not a problem for me, but my wife would have liked to see at least one option. The food was excellent (and locally sourced) as was the wine and the total bill was reasonable given the quality of both. Very enjoyable lunchtime and we will be going back. Not sure if they have updated their website, but we understand the fixed price lunch menu is no longer available, so please check when booking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madd0g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lille, Belgium
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Well prepared dishes with fresh ingredience, well seasoned and this all with a friendly service.
For our main course we took the poached bream and get's my recommandation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby-T-bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A lovely Steak Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We dropped into Blackwells for their Wednesday Steak night with friends on the way back from Newmarket races. They were able to find us a table and the staff were efficient and friendly.

The Steaks (4 choices of types from Sirloin to Fillet) were excellent - well cooked to the order, presented well and the chunky chips and sauces were excellent. We have had steak at the nearby Baumann's Brasserie and these were definately better cooked and better value.

Pudding of Sticky Toffee was just right.
The beers were excellent - as was the bottle of Sauvignon Blanc

We will all definately go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed stay, wonderful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked for an evening meal using a discount voucher and decided to make a night of it and booked a room with breakfast. The whole stay was very relaxed, the room was very comfortable and well equipped. All the food, evening meal and breakfast was of the highest quality, well presented and well served. The menu was very varied and the standard of cooking and quality of food as good as any top London restaurant. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we had a good stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Where do i start, the food was brilliant it was well cooked,well presented and from a menu that was very comprehensive, the staff were as good as the food very friendly and seem to go that extra mile in order to please .
We visited this restaurant for lunch after coming straight from the Blackwells farm shop near coggeshall and was certainly not dissapointed,the food served appears to be mostly sourced from the farm shop etc and was certainly fresh and before we came we had no idea what the restaurant would be like.
We were a little doubtfull at first as the restaurant was pretty much empty but when the food was served all that changed.
We understand that the chef is quite new to Blackwells but believe me but he could hold his head high in any top london restaurant for both quality taste and presentatation.
I have to admit i am not a vegetable lover but for once i ate every bit served as it was absolutely delicious.
This restaurant is about 20 miles from home but it was so nice we went staight back the following week for another go and this time with our daughter and grand daughter.
It matters not how old you are the staff will try to cater for every one it's a really nice touch to see a starter for the little ones on the childrens menu even though the kids may not manage it with the size of thier meals, But to be able to give the kid's something whilst the parents eat starters rather than them having to have their main meal at that time is a great idea.
As to the quantity of the portions, i have in the past been to several restaurants that rate themselves as fine dining only to be served miniscule portions that you can hardly taste and at exorbitant prices, Believe me thats not the case at Blackwells the portion sizes are spot on and exactly the right size.
As an example for the rack of lamb we have in the past and at a quite local pub payed twice the price of Blackwels for half the size of that served here.
On both visits we all had the full three courses and each and every one was brilliant well presented and just so tasty.
Evidently the menu is changed weekly which is another really good idea.
Will we be going back again oh yes and wihout a doubt.
Would we have any qualm's about reccomending this place to family and friends not at all.

I also think that you can get a good measure of a place by the way the staff handle awkward or difficult customers it would be so easy be to be curt or sharp to a customer if in turn they had been rude and unreasonable to you,
whilst we were on our second visit we had an example of this with an extremely rude lady customer who in a deliberate and over loud voice as soon as she entered complained to the waitress that she had not been shown to a table despite the poor girl being on the phone to another customer when she came in and especially as the place just was just about empty. The waitress handled this perfectly and with great diplomacy so much so that when the woman left she seemed really quite happy. some people i'm afraid behave like this to impress others or maybe their companions or just to get a reduction in their bill but the staff took this in their stride and were brilliant!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank knurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwells also viewed

Earls Colne, Essex
Earls Colne, Essex
 
Earls Colne, Essex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing