We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drapers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a Groupon for this stay, so as the hotel isn't that far from home for us it was like going out for a superb dinner, but staying over instead of getting a taxi home. Yes there is work going on and the staff maybe a little inexperienced in some areas, they more than made up for this with their friendliness and enthusiasm (even the decorator said hello and goodbye), we loved our room, it had a comfy bed and a great bathroom, we had the most fantastic dinner, our first experience of fillet steak. There's no real lounge to speak off but not sure what the downstairs will offer once completed. I'd maybe say keep the volume down on the music downstairs if restaurant shut, and clarify what breakfast is included with the bed & breakfast, but apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return

Room Tip: We had room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbirch1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed there on a Friday night recently. Staff were excellent and very helpful and professional. The food was wonderful and a good selection of wines are available. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated with a great power shower in the bathroom. There was still a bit of work going on in the bar area and I understand they are decorating the area situated next to the bar and turning it into a 'fine dining' restaurant. Our stay ended with a wonderful breakfast which was thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to friends and family and no doubt will return again soon.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which was quite a small but adequate room, very comfy bed and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue6057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We got a groupon deal so I'm feeling happy a random evening away. It was a little disorganised (no one at reception, no wifi access, cleaner came into the room at 9am?!) however the young team running it were quick witted and eager to please. There is a faux castle and tiger theme in the hallway which after a few drinks we found very entertaining and gave the hotel a boutique feel. The bed was very comfie. The shower and bathroom were huge (we were in room 1).
The steak was the best we've ever had. Really amazing. We got sides of cauliflower and blue cheese, green beans - all delicious. The brûlée was again, delicious!!
Nice wine menu. Breakfast was part of the deal and very tasty.
It would be remiss of me to not mention that we could hear the people upstairs getting a little amorous in the morning... It didn't last long and it's no fault of the hotel - it's an old interesting beamed building so you're bound to hear a few things every now and again (a headboard here and there!! ). Definitely go, even just for dinner!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Perkylator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here at the weekend and while some points were 5* and great other points let it down. Its above average but not very good which annoys me about the ratings on tripadviser!
The room was lovely, lovely white bed linen and comfy bed. Although the carpet was badly stained and obviously hadnt even been hoovered. There was also a light bulb out. We wanted to watch tv but unfortunatly it was tiny and in my opinion unwatchable from the bed. We stayed in room one and this is not the room to stay in if you want a peaceful nights sleep with a lay in! The noise from the restaurant downstairs was very load and then music was switched on at 8am again loudly. The fake flowers were very dusty!
The ensuite was through a very noisey fire door.
The ensuite had lovely fluffy white towels and great water pressure. I can never understand and think there is no excuse for me to clean other peoples hairs off the bath in order for me to use it!
The breakfast was simply awful i ordered poached eggs on toast. this arrived 1 slice of toast (no butter) 2 poached eggs with runny whites. I think my expectations have not been met as 5* i would expected a morning paper aswell. We were told a few times they were having teething problems due to recently changing hands. According to the reviews the current owners took over in early Feb. Surely 3 months is plenty of time to iron out teething problems!? Am going to review the restaurant seperatly

Room Tip: If you require a good quiet nights sleep and a layin ask for a room not directly above restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saz616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here 19th April for 1 night. Stayed in room 5 which was at the top of the hotel with lovely old fashioned beams, sloping ceilings and a big comfy bed. There were a few minor teething problems which were understandable due to the hotel only recently being taken over. Some information in the rooms about breakfast times, check out etc would have come in handy but there was only a menu. Check in was a little awkward as we had to enter through the main restaurant and a member of staff who was serving customers had to show us through to a lobby and then return with our room key! as they don't have a reception area. Very short staffed but they did their very best to accommodate. The food was outstanding, the steak was the best we have tasted! The chef even came out at the end of the evening to chat to guests, this was a very nice touch. Thank you to Louise who was working very hard especially at breakfast as she was the only member of staff there, also our compliments to the chef Luca (I hope that's how he spells his name). We had a special offer for this stay but if we had paid full price we would have been a little disappointed. Once the refurbishments have been completed and some more staff at hand this would definitely receive top ratings!

Room Tip: Room 5, top of the hotel with beams, sloping ceilings and velux windows above the bed (nice to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davejo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The meal we had was nice food and was happy with the food itself, the service we received was just awful. At the dinner service it was ok but not great, the staff didn't seem to know anything about the menu and it just didn't seem organised. The wine I asked for I was told they didn't have that one so I chose another, with the dessert it was the same I ordered the salted caramel and chocolate dessert, then was told the dessert I was given wasn't the one advertised but was given a different chocolate dessert. The room itself was nice except for the filthy carpet.
The worst part about our stay was the breakfast service in the morning, what an absolute joke that was!! We arrived and was told to sit at a table, then had a drinks order taken after about 15 minutes of waiting. We wasn't given a menu, there seemed to be only 1 menu between all 8 tables, so all the guests had to share and pass around to each other. After waiting another half hour to order we called over the waitress and ordered. We ordered the farmers breakfast and when our food arrived it was the traditional English breakfast which is only half the size. When I queried this the woman replied 'well this is what you ordered' which it wasn't. She then bought over an extra sausage each but didn't receive the extra bacon, toast or egg. We also wasn't given any butter for our toast or any sauces which was really disappointing, we also couldn't get the waitresses attention because she seemed to be incapable of managing the few tables that were all waiting. We didn't get the drinks we ordered so we just ate the food we had and left. All other tables were also very frustrated and it just caused an awful atmosphere and ruined our weekend. I just found the whole experience very disappointing as we were celebrating our anniversary and had been looking forward to this. It seemed very unorganised and the service was just awful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a rare cow regular and z list celeb ;) I was invited to the launch of the Rare cow in Earls Colne so made sense to enjoy the hospitality and book a room to stay over night.
Every room has a different theme we stayed in a beautifully designed room and were pampered all the way.
The hotel has 9 rooms and is 5 star boutique AA Rated the food in the Restaurant amzingly on a launch night was fantastic and done their award winning other restaurants proud.
Was also nice to meet Jess and Ricky from The only way is Essex a really nice couple who attended the launch and stayed in the hotel below us

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Drapers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drapers House Hotel

Address: 53 High Street, Earls Colne CO6 2PB, England (Formerly The Rare Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drapers House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel and Restaurant located close to Colchester in Essex. Each of the nine bedrooms are uniquely themed and furnished to offer superior comfort all with en suite bathrooms. Our Head Chef has a ever changing menu using only local seasonal produce from local farmers and producers. we buy directly from farmers and producers across East Anglia. Local amenities include, 2 x golf courses, flying club and airfield, 2 local steam railways and many historic buildings in the area. Nearby Colchester is one of England's oldest recorded towns. The hotel can cater for weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Drapers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drapers Hotel Earls Colne
The Drapers House Hotel Essex/Earls Colne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing