We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear - what a let down!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yew Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yew Tree
Ranked #1 of 1 Manuden B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh dear - what a let down!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were looking forward to our Mothering Sunday lunch (party of 8) only to find the proprietor had failed to book us in. This was despite him recalling both the telephone call making the booking and the fact he had actually phoned back to confirm. Whilst apologies were tendered there was no effort to try and rectify the situation other than to say we could be accommodated some 4 hours later!! All-in-all a huge disappointment and, needless to say, there was no chance of finding another alternative establishment that could fit us in for lunch on, what is, such a popular day. We returned home to cook our own lunch having been grateful for the fact that M & S was open and we could purchase some of their ready meals for four (with wine) - and how nice it was!

So, thank you to The Yew Tree for ruining our day - obviously there are no medals (stars) to hand out and I don't think we shall be rushing back. One word really sums up the proprietors attitude - disgraceful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BenjiHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    37
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
31
60
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gtr. Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Although our room was available from 2.00pm we didn't arrive at the Yew Tree until 4.00. Despite a temperature of -6 deg and 3 ins of ice-packed snow on the ground, the heating in our room wasn't turned on until we got there. We were in one of the motel-style rooms outside of the main building with a gap round the door, so the room was very cold and no hot water. The main building shut down completely at 10.00pm when the heating was turned off leaving us cold and with no communication with the outside world. The pipes froze during the night so we had no heating the following morning either and no hot water. There was no telephone in the room, no mobile signal and no internet connection (Wi-Fi was available in the main building). The public telephone across the road was out of order so we had no way of making contact with the owners or outside world in case of emergency. There was no hairdryer provided, and no bins in the room. We didn't have dinner, but the cooked breakfast was good apart from the butter left in the marmalade from a previous guest!

Room Tip: Don't go in winter if there are only the outside rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuden hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

my colleague and I stayed here while working. Accommodation nice and comfortable . Owner friendly and food very good. will stay again.
only possible downside is that some rooms are 'motel' style which may not appeal to lone women. We enjoyed it though and would use again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We visited the Yew Tree Inn for dinner on my wife's Birthday. Friends had visited for Sunday lunch and the venue came with high recommendation.
Despite booking on the quarter hour the restaurant was full within 10 minutes of our arrival. The service was slow and although we were ready to order we were told we had to wait until they had taken the order from the larger group whom had arrived seconds before us. We did not appear to have an allocated waitress, being asked the same question by different people on more than one occasion.
The team need to review their booking schedule as I'm sure the current practice puts both front and back of house under unnecessary pressure. Additionally they might benefit from reviewing their table management strategy.
The food was well cooked and nicely presented if a little bland and unimaginative with flavours and seasonings.
Our bill was in excess of £25 per head for two courses and one bottle of wine,OK for London quality service and food, a standard to which The Yew Tree sadly falls short.
They also need to make sure the menu accurately describes the dishes served, especially if they contain nuts!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfisti1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Your most recent negative reviews completely distort this lovely country inn which is now under the new management. We are frequent visitors to the Yew Tree. The whole place has been completely renovated and offers great food, private function rooms and overnight accommodation (within reasonable distance to Stansted Airport) and of course a fine Bar . The Yew tree is not only serving the local community but is attracting visitors from far afield and catering for functions and parties. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: ground floor accommodation is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Yew Tree has been refurbished extensively and we were delighted with our room which was chic and modern. The double bed was capacious with crisp white sheets and duvet also sparkling white bath towels and an excellent shower. Just surprised no hair dryer was installed. We didn't dine there but our breakfast was a real treat. All tastes were catered for but we opted for the 'full english' which didn't disappoint. The portions were very generous. The dining room was stylish with a modern slant. The staff were courteous and helpful. Our bill for two for one night plus breakfast came to £95 which we thought reasonable. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Been to the Yew Tree a few times now since its refurbishment for both food and drinks. Very friendly people, food excellent and the drinks are too. The restaurant/bar has been refurbished to a very high standard. Its also very clean and tidy. Will definitley go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheppii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manuden
2.4 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Avalon Stansted Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elsenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
1.6 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#1 of 7 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yew Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yew Tree

Property: The Yew Tree
Address: 36 The Street, Manuden CM23 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manuden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manuden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yew Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your The Yew Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yew Tree Hotel Manuden
The Yew Tree Manuden, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing