We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Yew Tree
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Cricketers' Arms(Saffron Walden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Bishops Stortford)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel London Stansted Airport(Stansted Mountfitchet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSalis Hotel(Elsenham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
63
42
33
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
42
33
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstansted airportample spaceone night stayroast dinnerrural locationgreat accommodationgroupon dealrestaurant tablesthank you for a lovelypretty villagemotel style roomsquiet areapublic areascomfy bedenjoyed my stayovernight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a quiet, upmarket village location. The Yew Tree is a converted and renovated pub with cabin-style hotel rooms finished to a high standard, very comfortable and modern. The restaurant serves excellent food, the service is great, the breakfast could use a few more healthy options (fruit, muesli, yoghurt) but we enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Friendly owners and staff. Nice job!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very stylish great look to the whole building.
Great location in a small village,
Room amazing - but (very tiny buts ) room smelt a little sicky. No bin, shower needs a door as floor gets very wet due to the rain fall shower....
Staff amazing breakfast amazing over all experience top notch...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samnathrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed early in April - two couples and a young baby and loved it. The village is very pretty and the owners have done a fab job of completely renovating what was obviously a run down old pub. It's modern but with lovely old parts restored tastefully, clean and well laid out. Restaurant food was excellent (chilli beef a favourite), breakfasts very good and pub laid back and friendly. Owner Kit was very good, a natural at his role and staff were all really friendly. We'll go back for sure as its so easy from Stanstead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurraineFeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Have eaten here numerous times and each time the food and service have been excellent. would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrussell1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were looking forward to our Mothering Sunday lunch (party of 8) only to find the proprietor had failed to book us in. This was despite him recalling both the telephone call making the booking and the fact he had actually phoned back to confirm. Whilst apologies were tendered there was no effort to try and rectify the situation other than to say we could be accommodated some 4 hours later!! All-in-all a huge disappointment and, needless to say, there was no chance of finding another alternative establishment that could fit us in for lunch on, what is, such a popular day. We returned home to cook our own lunch having been grateful for the fact that M & S was open and we could purchase some of their ready meals for four (with wine) - and how nice it was!

So, thank you to The Yew Tree for ruining our day - obviously there are no medals (stars) to hand out and I don't think we shall be rushing back. One word really sums up the proprietors attitude - disgraceful.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank BenjiHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews