We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yew Tree Inn

The Yew Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Manuden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Daily specials.. new thing apparently, love the traditional menu
Cozy atmosphere and lovely tasty food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO STAY NEAR STANSTEAD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked into this Inn on our flight out of Stanstead and for the night after our return. It was a wonderful place. The young staff were amazingingly helpful and the food delicous. Nothing was too much trouble and we would definately consider flying out of Stanstead so that we have an excuse to stay there again! The manager Alex, went out of his way to make us feel welcome as did the waiter Cookie. Best place we have stayed in for a long long time. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindawales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Sunday lunch experience in living memory”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We ended up having Sunday lunch here as our preferred place was fully booked. On entering, the restaurant was completely empty (never a good sign) apart from a musician setting up a guitar and keyboard (of which more later).

The Sunday menu is cheap - two courses for £12, three for £15) - and fairly standard for a pub with aspirations towards gastronomy. Whilst considering food options, we ordered drinks - only to be brought the wrong drinks soon after; oh dear. The table service was slow, casual and meek throughout.

One starter was fried calamari in garlic and chilli with a samphire salad. The squid was tepid, tasteless and rubbery, dosed with a shed load of garlic. Grim. The aforementioned salad was limp and contained no samphire at all! This inedible mess was hardly touched (and not charged for after our feedback to the waitress, to give some credit).

The mains (roast lamb, roast beef, Yorkshire puds, veg) were tasteless with no seasoning and the ingredients looked and tasted like frozen produce. If those spongy Yorkshire puds were home-made then Geoffrey Boycott is my granny. The beef was fatty, bloody, chewy and tasteless. Again, really really poor.

In blind hope (and hunger), we tried a brownie for pudding, reasoning that this would be hard to screw up. Wrong: burnt, chewy, not good at all.

When taking away plates that had hardly been touched and when bringing the bill, the waitresses did not engage at all. It was as if they were afraid to discuss the food - and I don't blame them. They were probably too embarrassed.

Finally, a note on the live music played during lunch. Inappropriate choice of music (guitar shred of 'Paint It Black' over lunch, anyone? How about MOR Coldplay, indulgently, for solo piano?), and too loud (nearby elderly gentleman stunned into silence). Frankly, who wants music instead of a conversation at Sunday lunch?

Do not waste your time and money on this place, unless they seriously get their act together. As Chef Ramsey would say, walking away, "Wow...".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckinghamRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such an improvement!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

So nice to see this place up and running again, with pleasant, comfortable surroundings.
A group of five ate in the restaurant, the menu was varied with interesting dishes on starters and mains on the specials, plus old favourites on the standard menu, and not too expensive.(Chips were good!) Young waitress was OK, though should have known what the soup of the day was, but service generally good, and friendly. We were not kept waiting for too long, and were offered desserts, which we enjoyed, and tea and coffee, which we declined. I am sure we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had mussels followed by Venison on my own as on business and stayed there. The Mussels were ok but the broth they came in was a bit bland to my taste, seemed almost like gritty hot water. Assumed the grit came from the mussels. The venison was very nice and came with vegetables I wouldn't normally select but was nice. Would certainly eat there again. It was a Monday night and quite and didn't have a "pudding of the day" on which was no loss as was quite full by then anyway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yew Tree Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Yew Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing