We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roods Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The owners of this B&B were beyond nice. They made us feel really welcome. The location is great. Right next to a train station so you can hop on a train and be in Edinburgh in 20 minutes. The breakfast and the rooms were also great.

Overall, a great place to stay for exploring Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
84
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our stay at the Roods was by far one of the best we have had. Not only was our host welcoming, friendly and accommodating, the accommodation itself was incredibly homely, immaculate and comfortable. The surrounding settings were fantastic; the view from our room overlooking the well-kept garden was a lovely touch.
The breakfast was equally superb: the fact that there were a lot of options to choose from ensured that there was something to accommodate anyone’s tastes, and all the produce was clearly freshly cooked and locally sourced, which added to the experience. We will definitely return to the Roods in the future due to our impeccable stay.

Megan and Tom

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We arrived at The Roods in the pouring rain after a horrid 4 hour journey and immediately our stress disappeared. Isobel is a wonderful lady who will go out of her way to make you feel at home and ensure you have a great stay. We were traveling with our 5 month old and anything we needed, such as help with sterilising, was no trouble at all. Our room was spacious, very clean, warm and of a much higher standard expected from a B&B. The bathroom was also spacious, full of good quality toiletries and fluffy towels. Isobel cooks a fab breakfast and offers a wide range of choices including Lorne sausage - the nicest thing I have ever eaten. We highly recommend The Roods, it really is a home from home and you won't be disappointed.
If traveling by car, it's good to know that the Roods parking is situated up the hill/driveway behind number 15.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I could not believe my eyes when Isobel opened the door to my bedroom. It looked like the Ritz Carlton. What comfort is tucked into this lovely and gracious B&B. I am so glad I stayed there. It had everything anyone could want in that room. The bathroom was gorgeous with a walk-in shower to die for and fluffy towels and plenty of luxurious soaps. The bed and pillows were of the best quality and the appointments of the room were designer quality. The whole lovely B&B was spotlessly clean and the generosity of Pat and Isobel was just what I needed after a rainy day of traveling.
The breakfast served in a lovely conservatory looking out on a well manicured spring garden was such a treat. Isobel is such a great cook. The other guests, who I did not know, and I sat at the same table and Pat made us all feel so comfortable with each other.
The entire experience of staying at The Roods was a delight. I will certainly go back again and again in the years to come.
If you are visiting Edinburgh, I suggest you treat yourself to the experience of staying in this fine accommodation. It is so well placed; right across the street from a train that will get you into Edinburgh City Centre in 20 minutes. It is the perfect location for visiting other sites around Edinburgh as well.
There is a bit of a steep walk down hill to the house from the parking area but a gentle path through the garden will get you to the door easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A really excerllent spot, beutifully clean and very tidy, run by very friendly nicely chatty hosts. Its good value and the location allows an easy stroll in to inverkeithing high street or to pick up the edinbourgh shuttle train for the full range of the city.Breakfast is to order and great tasting, the hospitallity is second to none, recommended.

Room Tip: there is only the one room which has on suit bathroom both fine for the job and in good really clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Excellent B&B.Fantastic rooms with high quality facilities,very comfortable and homely.Isobel and Pat couldn't do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one.Good number of choices for breakfast.Ideally situated with the train station about a minutes walk away.Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevieboy440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I frequently travel to Scotland, and I always look forward to staying at The Roods in Inverkeithing. The location is very convenient to the busy railway station at Inverkeithing and is a perfect spot outside the city of Edinburgh.

I promise that a warm greeting awaits. Pat and Isobel will make you feel instantly at home and will be interested in hearing about your travel experiences and plans. They are very helpful and very, very nice people.

The accommodations are excellent and so is the breakfast with many, many choices.

Stay at The Roods, and you will remember the experience fondly for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
2.4 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.9 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roods Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roods Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16 Bannerman Avenue, Inverkeithing KY11 1NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roods Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Roods Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roods Bed & Breakfast Inverkeithing, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing