We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent one night at the Roods. A very lovely room, relaxing and convenient to the airport. We were in Scotland for 10 days and this was our last stop. Well appointed comfortable room. Isobel and Patrick even packed a breakfast for us to take for our early flight! Would certainly recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
84
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a two night break taking in the Military Tattoo. Away from the crowds of the city, the Roods was a delight. A cheap direct bus to and from the airport stops right outside, and a train into Edinburgh Waverley only takes twenty minutes. Much better (and cheaper) than staying in the city and getting taxis to and fro.

Isobel and Pat have a lovely little place, with one of the best home cooked breakfast menus I've seen.

This is now in our 'saved' list of UK B&B's which we will use again, or pass on to friends heading that way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmahomack, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ideal base for Edinburgh. Easy to reach. Comfortable room. Isobel and Pat are excellent hosts -- outstanding. Other guests were also very interesting individuals and conversation at the breakfast table was fascinating.

It's nice to have a place to be able to recommend to people visiting the Edinburgh area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feinschmecker12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very convenient for Edinburgh and/or Fife if you prefer an EXCELLENT B&B with a little travelling involved. Train Station is 1 minute away and Tram Park and Ride is 10 mins away by car for journeys into Edinburgh. The rooms are excellent, clean and very, very well provisioned. The welcome and hospitality is outstanding.

The breakfast choice and quality is brilliant and the little welcoming touches are great and if you are booked long enough to relax at the Roods......the garden is superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hidden away in Inverkeithing (but pleasingly near the train station) is a gem of a B&B. I feel I shouldn't rave to enthusiastically because it won't be available next time! Joking aside this is a genuine warm welcoming delight of a B&B. Highly recommended. For those who enjoy walking or running there is an excellent coastal path with stunning views of the Firth of Forth. Paul Marshall Jul 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms are limited because B&B but all are excellent I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here whilst working in the area. Isobel and Pat were great hosts. The room I had was very good and the en suite would rival anything from a more expensive hotel.
The choice of breakfast was superb, when I told Isobel that I would be leaving early she made me up a bag of fresh fruit to take with me, a lovely touch
I would definitely recommend The Roods to anybody staying in the area
Thank you Isobel and Pat

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noll0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you're looking for a warm, friendly Guest House outside the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh, this is the place for you. It is quite close to the Inverkeithing Railway Station, and the trains are very frequent in both directions. You will be met by a friendly couple who are anxious to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast is delicious, with a wide choice of selections. The conservatory, where breakfast is served, is quite nice, with a view of the garden. You will love this place and the proprietors!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
2.4 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roods Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roods Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Roods Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16 Bannerman Avenue, Inverkeithing KY11 1NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roods Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roods Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roods Bed & Breakfast Inverkeithing, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing