We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor”

North Shore Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 12 Restaurants in Inverkeithing
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: British, Grill, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our new in-house restaurant, The North Shore Restaurant offers a unique dining experience with both traditional and international cuisine enhanced by the spectacular setting. From a family gathering for twenty to an intimate dinner for two, the North Shore Restaurant is ideal for all types of occasions. Our menus are created with care by our chefs, using the finest local produce and suppliers. Cuisine ranges from traditional dishes and our chefs signature and speciality dishes, and there is a children's menu available too, our restaurant really is a recipe for success. If you are looking for something a little more private, we have a number of suites that can accommodate from 4 up to 200 guests for a sit down dinner. To find out more about these, see our meeting room page.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Was here for dinner. Waited over an hour in between courses. Gnocci was over cooked, starter was tiny and cold.Did not have starter or dessert my husband wanted , very poor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at North Shore Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us - guest feedback really is massively important in indicating the strengths and weakness within our team.

I'm sorry that you were so disappointed with your meal and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in further detail. Please can you contact me directly at the hotel on 01383 427 208 or alternatively by email at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    0
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived here after a lovely day out round the Forth armed with a coupon for a 2 course & a glass of wine per person deal and can honestly say - it was good. The place was quiet about 4pm but we had our choice of seats and naturally we chose to sit near the window, the views out over the Forth were amazing on a lovely day and you could clearly see the old road bridge and the new one taking shape on the surface of the water.

We ordered a starter each and they were lovely, big bowl of mussels served well and I had the wild mushroom. Both were very well produced and served.

Main course was the fillet steak and pork belly, steak was cooked they way I asked for it. No steak knife supplied but did not have any problems slicing through it.
Pork belly was well cooked, creamy mash potatoes and curly kale went down well and the black pudding bonbons were a treat.

All in all we had a very good meal here, the restaurant must be trying to turn things round and it is noticeable. We would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at North Shore Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We really appreciate such positive feedback and I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

I'm pleased that you have noticed the positive changes we are making - the new menu being just one of many. We look forward to welcoming you back to The North Shore Restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a complete shambles of a place.

We arrived at 20.30 having booked a table for that time. We were given a menu and asked to take a seat in the waiting corridor. No offer of a drink or any indication that the service would be poor.

Having waited for 40 minutes, he came back and took us to our table and left us there. No offer of a drink and no order taken for food.

Sitting at the table for another 16 minutes, a waitress arrived and said 'are you ready to order'. Unbelievably bad service. She took the order but no offer of a drink, no water for the table and no apology for the delay.

The starter eventually arrived over an hour after seeing the menu for the first time. We had to ask for a drink and she went away to the bar. The drinks were poured and left on the bar for another 15 minutes, we could see them but obviously they were not important to the bar person as she could easily have brought them over. Probably not in her job description.

The steak for the main course was badly cooked as was the risotto. The steak was tough and the risotto was under cooked and grainy in texture. There was no steak knife so be prepared for a battle to cut it.

You could sense that all the other Diners were not enjoying their experience. Some walked out, others complained and generally most were sitting silent.

What surprised me most was that the few staff on duty disappeared for long periods. I have no idea what they were doing. On the very odd occasion that they appeared they seemed to have no system. They would walk past you, ignore the plates waiting to be removed and come back 10 minutes later to repeat the process.

Fawlty Towers would be a better experience so I apologise to that fictional institution, at least you would get a laugh there.

The North Shore Bar & Restaurant is under new management. This will not last, it is a terrible experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dovetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at North Shore Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us in The North Shore Restaurant customer feedback is hugely important in helping the team grow and develop.

I'm sorry that your meal with us fell sort of your expectations. Having launched our new menu recently we were perhaps a little under prepared for the number of diners we had through the doors on Saturday. We are now recruiting further staff to help avoid some of the problems you experienced. I hope that this has not deterred you too heavily from dining with us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back soon

If you would like to discuss this with me in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Obviously judging by the older reviews this hotel and restaurant has had its problems in recent years, however our meal was excellent. Very well presented food and very attentive staff. Also pleasant atmosphere. I would encourage all people with bad experiences in the past to give it another try and see the difference.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at North Shore Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We really appreciate such positive feedback and I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

I'm pleased that you have noticed the positive changes we are making - the new menu being just one of many. We look forward to welcoming you back to The North Shore Restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

What a transformation! Excellent food and good service. We had a lovely meal. Starter of Spring roll had an authentic Chinese influence. Black Pudding balls were served with this and they were a delicacy. My wife went for the soup of the day, a nice Cauliflower Soup with a Parmesan crisp.

I went for the Belly Pork main course which was superb and the Braised Shin of beef pie was equally good. What a wow the a Chocolate Fondant turned out to be and the Whisky Pannacota was definitely more ish.

As someone who eats out a lot in the best rated places, this is restaurant rates very highly now. The construction of the new a Forth Bridge is an interesting distraction and you have a wonderful view from the hotel but it's the food that will take us back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlackandWhite1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at North Shore Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We really appreciate such positive feedback and I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

I'm pleased that you have noticed the positive changes we are making - the new menu being just one of many. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the view of the progressing bridge and sample some more of the menu soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Shore Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Inverkeithing, Fife
Inverkeithing, Fife
 
Inverkeithing, Fife
 
Inverkeithing, Fife
Inverkeithing, Fife
 

Been to North Shore Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing