We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total lack of Ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boreland Lodge Hotel
Edinburgh
1 review
“Total lack of Ammenities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Upon our arrival, I asked the person at the desk for brochures about Edinburgh, I was told they didn't have any. Our room was in the basement, too small for two adults to even sleep there without being claustrophobic. The shower stall not only leaked, but was not large enough to accomodate my husband, who is over 6 feet tall. He was unable to wash his feet! The next day we were changed to a "Larger" room, however, it was still not large enough for two adults. "Continental breakfast" was a joke, toast and cereal with instant coffee or tea. They ran out of food items and dishes, and they were not restocked unless it was called to their attention. The dining room floor was covered with food particles, and it was not swept once during our 4 day stay there. When asked for ice, I was told, "give me ten minutes." The ice never appeared. The next day I asked for ice and was told the ice machine was broken. But, ice did appear in a glass about a half hour later. The lodge is near the train station, the staff was pleasant, but, lax in their duties and responsibilities. They did keep our room clean and the dinner menu, while limited, was good. If you are looking for a stress-free vacation, this is not the place to stay. Maps, tour information, etc were not available at the onset.Two days later, we received a brochure after being told they would print some information out for us on the computer (the information never arrived.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borelandlodgeht, Owner at Boreland Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Boreland Lodge Hotel for your recent visit to Inverkeithing. I also wanted to sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.! We are taking immediate action to fix these issues for future guests. I would love the chance to resolve any and all concerns expressed in your review.! Please feel free to reach out to me at your convenience at borelandlodgeht@btinternet.com or 01383413792
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    60
    40
    28
    73
See reviews for
62
79
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goch, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed here several times and every time have seen improvements, the price is still fair, a nice quiet location, a few minutes walk to town and great connections to Edinburgh city and the airport. Great staff, the cooked breakfast is better than a lot of 4 star hotels. It has a cosy bar and I slept in a comfortable, clean new bed. All in all the best place in Inverkeithing in my opinion. I don't understand the negative reveiws, I suggest to those that found the rooms too small to stay in a hotel in the city for three times the price. Me and my friends will definately stay at the boreland lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummelgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

No complaints to make about my stay in the boreland lodge hotel. Our room was hygienic and well maintained throughout our stay. Staff went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our weekend away. Pleasant town and well situated, close to the train station with frequent trains to the nearby towns

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbieGilruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was in this Hotel first time in December 2011 and i chose again for the second time.
I will be here for more than four months and i am very satisfied by everything.The staff and the services are excellent,believe me it is not so easy to stay in hotel so long time,they make feel
like home.Thanks to every body.
Dan

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for TITP, staff would call taxis for us and haggle for us. Rooms are small but spotless, the rest of the hotel is tastefully decorated. I didn't think the breakfast was worth the money and the beds were uncomfortable. Other than that its a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglfaetheyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Not what we expected, rooms need a bit of upgrade. Beds not great no headboards but clean. Bathroom clean. Kettle had no plug so no morning tea!! Did not eat there so cannot comment on food. Room was very small and dark at the back of hotel,so quiet. Lighting in bathroom not great and no bedside light. Man at reception very pleasant. Did not see any more staff.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as our room was small and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Not what I expected rooms could do with being upgraded especially for the money that you pay overall the hotel was ok nice staff nice location I was only there for 1 night there's tea or coffee in the rooms no mini fridge you can order breakfast we went to the Club House just 2 mins down the road for an evening meal very good food and reasonably priced food

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybeboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
2.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boreland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreland Lodge Hotel

Property: Boreland Lodge Hotel
Address: 31-33 Boreland Road, Inverkeithing KY11 1DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boreland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boreland Lodge has recently had a refurbishment and all rooms have new shower rooms, fully tiled, and new carpets in all the rooms, the furniture has been upgraded and the hotel is a family run hotel. We have free internet in all public areas and also tea and coffee complimentary facilities in all rooms. There are small TVs in all rooms with freeview channels. We are 300 yards from a local train station and journey to Edinburgh is 15-20 minutes, costing about 5 pound return. There is also a shuttle bus to Edinburgh Airport terminal from the train station, which runs every 30 minutes taking about 20 minutes. We are near Roysth and the Forth Road bridge and close to the motorways. Ideal for Ingliston and T in the Park, local events at Knockhill are 15 minutes away. We have rooms 2 family of 5 rooms with conservatories, we also have singles, doubles and twins. We serve a continental breakfast and a cooked Scottish breakfast. We also have a lovely cozy bar area offering lovely food every evening. Come and join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boreland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boreland Hotel Inverkeithing
Boreland Lodge Hotel Inverkeithing, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing