We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel and accommodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boreland Lodge Hotel
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at and is located very close to Edinburgh and the rail station to take you there. The staff is very friendly and are very helpful with any questions or requests you may have throughout your stay. They offer internet free of charge, a wonderful cooked breakfast, dinner, and an excellent bar. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I was here on business the place looked great on website it looks nothing like that everywhere you walk or everything you touch something creeks electric sockets in the room are not safe you can here them crackle the bed is the worst thing I've ever tried to sleep on. There was nowhere to make tea or coffee had to plug kettle in on the floor then It did not work. The place is very dirty the price per night £ 39
not recommended to stay here stay away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank mammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights fri and sat, they seemed to be a bit of a mix up when we all arrived as there was 12 of us but got that sorted eventually. Rooms were so small you couldn't swing a cat in them and ours had mould all over the bathroom ceiling which was also very small. Im afraid this hotel/ lodge is in need of a bit of tlc. It was £72 per night so wasn't that cheap for what I would say a one star. You didn't get breakfast it was all very laid back. There is a couple of pubs in the village which we went and they were very friendly and the good thing was the train station was very close to go into Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel was disgusting. The smell of grease, damp and stale smoke hit you as soon as you entered the front door. There was one spotlight to light a double bedroom and a bathroom smaller than Harry Potters bedroom under the stairs.

The walls are paper thin, you can hear doors slamming and conversations in the next room. People were clearly smoking, the manager must not mind this.

This trip was booked as a cheap alternative during the Rugby Six Nations, but it worked out as approximately £72 a night to stay in filth with no breakfast. Do not stay here, EVER!!!!!!

Room Tip: No rooms are good unless you want to sleep in a chip pan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate_kb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I came to Boreland Lodge Hotel during new year with my girlfriend. we were happy that we don't have to travel so far from edinburgh, it is in a perfect location. we took a very easy bus service from the airport to inverkeithing station and we only walked 5 minutes to reach the hotel. hotel was very decorated nice. the entry is beautiful and welcoming. our room was nice just like we expect and the bathroom was proper and clean. the dining room has nicely decoration and feels comfortable. the bar area is very traditional with wood and nice christmas decoration on fireplace. my girlfriend and me took a beer in the bar before we took the train service from inverkeithing to city centre. staff were really nice and helpful. they are young and experienced workers who take care of their guests. damian and patrick are very nice to us and they helped us to organise taxi for returning to hotel after midnight of new year. very nice hotel, i wish to return in future.

Room Tip: They have of small rooms for couples or family rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFThevenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at the end of November and was warmly welcomed by friendly staff whom nothing seemed to trouble them. We were shown to our room and staff couldn't be more friendly. We opted for a small ensuite double room which actually had a double bed & a separate single bed with still plenty room to walk around & get ready. The room was immaculate & ensuite adequate & clean. We didn't have breakfast as we were going out with friends but if the smell was anything to go by it smelt delicious. I would definitely stay here again and in fact we are planning our next trip and intend on staying for a few nights.

It's location is fantastic nice & quiet and only a few mins from inverkeithing train station which is a main station where you can get a train to & from London or to Inverness & Aberdeen and lots of places inbetween. It's fantastic and just a short 10-20 min train journey to Edinburgh depending on the train.

Fantastic place for a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent location with regards to train station the only thing good about it. Asked for a different room all the same really dreadful, curtain did not cover window and breakfast was something else. Value white bread and so it went on all more than basic. Had to climb over my husband to get into bed room was the size of a shoe box, Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hereford66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
843 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
156 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boreland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreland Lodge Hotel

Address: 31-33 Boreland Road, Inverkeithing KY11 1DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range: £41 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boreland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boreland Lodge has recently had a refurbishment and all rooms have new shower rooms, fully tiled, and new carpets in all the rooms, the furniture has been upgraded and the hotel is a family run hotel. We have free internet in all public areas and also tea and coffee complimentary facilities in all rooms. There are small TVs in all rooms with freeview channels. We are 300 yards from a local train station and journey to Edinburgh is 15-20 minutes, costing about 5 pound return. There is also a shuttle bus to Edinburgh Airport terminal from the train station, which runs every 30 minutes taking about 20 minutes. We are near Roysth and the Forth Road bridge and close to the motorways. Ideal for Ingliston and T in the Park, local events at Knockhill are 15 minutes away. We have rooms 2 family of 5 rooms with conservatories, we also have singles, doubles and twins. We serve a continental breakfast and a cooked Scottish breakfast. We also have a lovely cozy bar area offering lovely food every evening. Come and join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boreland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boreland Hotel Inverkeithing
Boreland Lodge Hotel Inverkeithing, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing