We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only let down was breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boreland Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boreland Lodge Hotel
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only let down was breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in on the 3rd June to find out our room through hotels.com had been cancelled. However the lovely guy on check in sorted it out and honoured our deal. Rooms are clean if a little small. The breakfast is not worth paying for! Chef is a creep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hjayne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    60
    40
    28
    71
See reviews for
61
79
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place does not look anything like its pictures. We arrived it was starting to get dark, it was actually spooky when we went in the front door, a young man came gave us the keys and said if we needed anything to let him know. We asked him to show us to our room, he said okay he would try he was new and should know where the rooms are, now bear in mind not well lit ,the place stank, musty, stale smoke and other smells. We got to the room, we could not believe our eyes, the curtains were half hanging off the windows, the double bed was pushed up against the wall there was 1 night stand and that was it, that we could see. The carpet looked filthy and the room smelled! We said the room would not do, did they have another. He showed us to another room that was a family room? But would have to be cleaned before we used as a staff member was using that room. It was viewed and was just as bad. We DID not stay here, the guy checking us in allowed us to use his wifi so that we could look for another place to stay and talked with the new place that we went (which was lovely) to give us directions, he apologized. We tipped him and thanked him for his assistance. The place is more like shown at best a cheap hostile or a mission for homeless people. I would not reccomnend this place at all. The fellows that assisted us were very helpful and very pleasant, thank goodness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverkeithing hotels

Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My fiance and I booked a small double room for three nights, at a great price (we were looking for something cheap near the attractions we are interested in visiting). We were upgraded to a family room at no charge when we arrived, just because it was available (we both appreciate the extra space - the rooms are, AS ADVERTISED, quite small). The staff have been quite friendly. Our room seems to have been renovated (newer bathroom), but some of it is clearly cosmetic. The lighting is fairly poor, but during daylight the large windows allow a lot of daylight into the room and really brighten it up. It is much better than I expected it to be over all, given the 1-star rating. To top it off, WiFi is free :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location and nice service.The staff is very friendly and are very helpful with any questions or requests you may have throughout your stay.
I would recommended this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrzej k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as good price and looked great on the website. When we arrived the young man that checked us in was polite but didnt seem to know how to check us in properly. He just gave us a key and offered no further information, not even to show us to our room. I think the staff need more customer service training as I had to ask about breakfasts, time of them and even which way to go to room. Room although small was clean. Tea and coffee just on side, teabags stained, we stayed two nights and these were not replenished. We had a continental breakfast which consisted of a choice of 3 cereals or porridge and toast!! Orange juice was in a jug on side and replenished in clear view of guests with a cheap juice carton with 85p on the side, surely this should have been done in the kitchen?? Bread just on side in packets!! Our second morning a lady complained that her cooked breakfast was cold only to be told by the young man he didnt know about it as he had just came on duty!! Surely an apology would have been more appropriate? He then returned offering to microwave the ladies breakfast? again still no apology and in front of other guests! ! Again id suggest some customer service training as it was very awkward to listen to! When we left a thankyou for your custom hope you enjoyed your stay would have been nice instead we got mumbled at. Not a good impression to be giving of Scotland and the great hospitality most Scottish establishments have. Given the great location a lot could be done to improve this hotel and increase customer satisfaction.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I picked this hotel because it was cheap as We do on many occasions for a weekend at different locations for the kids...on arriving at the place we had to ring the bell which no one answered then rang again which was eventually answered I later found out by the same person who cooked meals served at the bar and basically ran the place single handed..the hotel was in darkness on entering which was a little off putting...we where shown to our room which was spotless although the stench of stale smoke on route was a little off putting the room was basic but clean no fault and the kids loved it the hotel looks fab in the pics do not expect that on arrival looks in need of some T l c we did not chose to eat in the hotel which in my opinion was a good choice........if you are looking for a cheap hotel to put your head down this is for you we as a family had a great day in the area and a clean bed to put our head down this is what we paid for

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at and is located very close to Edinburgh and the rail station to take you there. The staff is very friendly and are very helpful with any questions or requests you may have throughout your stay. They offer internet free of charge, a wonderful cooked breakfast, dinner, and an excellent bar. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeithing
2.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
2.9 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boreland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreland Lodge Hotel

Property: Boreland Lodge Hotel
Address: 31-33 Boreland Road, Inverkeithing KY11 1DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boreland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boreland Lodge has recently had a refurbishment and all rooms have new shower rooms, fully tiled, and new carpets in all the rooms, the furniture has been upgraded and the hotel is a family run hotel. We have free internet in all public areas and also tea and coffee complimentary facilities in all rooms. There are small TVs in all rooms with freeview channels. We are 300 yards from a local train station and journey to Edinburgh is 15-20 minutes, costing about 5 pound return. There is also a shuttle bus to Edinburgh Airport terminal from the train station, which runs every 30 minutes taking about 20 minutes. We are near Roysth and the Forth Road bridge and close to the motorways. Ideal for Ingliston and T in the Park, local events at Knockhill are 15 minutes away. We have rooms 2 family of 5 rooms with conservatories, we also have singles, doubles and twins. We serve a continental breakfast and a cooked Scottish breakfast. We also have a lovely cozy bar area offering lovely food every evening. Come and join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Boreland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boreland Hotel Inverkeithing
Boreland Lodge Hotel Inverkeithing, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing