We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 22 Jun 12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The first time we entered this hotel we knew it was just perfect for our complete wedding package. That feeling did not change despite our numerous requests during the time leading up to out big day and I can honestly say we were not let down on the day either.

Throughout this time we, and subsequently all of our guests, were treated so well by all staff - even at the very late hour the partying finished the staff were still smiling and happy to serve us.

The food for our wedding breakfast was fantastic, all 31 guests had their meals served quickly and efficiently. Also breakfast was enjoyed by all.

Our guests took up many of the rooms in the hotel and everyone enjoyed their stay, not one raised any concerns with the standard or quality of their room.

Thanks Julie and your team for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina992_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Beautifully appointed rooms and public areas. Lovely gardens.
Central heating was turned off as June was considered summer. I was cold so the staff supplied a fan heater and an extra blanket without complaint.
Breakfast menu was extensive and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband & myself stayed here when my neice got married recently,We highly recommend this hotel as the food we had in the wedding reception was excellent & also the breakfast buffet was well stocked,there was plenty for all tastes.The room we had was tastefully decorated & we had a very comfortable nights sleep.We highly recommend this hotel to any one wishing to stay in good hotel in bristol

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim10bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Myself, my wife and dog had a Saturday night stay at the Alveston whilst transacting some business locally. This was in fact our second choice hotel, we had stayed previously in our first choice Henbury Lodge Hotel however it has since stopped taking dogs.
The whole building is immaculately clean, at room level there wasn't so much as a mark on the grouting between the tiles in the bathroom. From going through the door the staff were warm and helpfull. We didn't plan to eat in the restaurant but having seen the menu decided to do so, we've dined out a lot recently at both ends of the country and we've paid a lot more for food and service less good than the Alveston. Unfortunately it was a wet weekend so we couldn't take full advantage of the well maintained garden at the rear of the property.
Tripadvisor doesn't do half stars or I'd have been looking at four and a half, the only reason for the mark down was the size of the room.
To summarise: welcoming staff, attention to service, excellent food, impeccably clean. The Alveston will certainly be our first choice the next time we're in the area

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night when away from home on business.
I can't recall staying at another hotel where the staff have been so friendly and welcoming.
I quality of food in the restaurant was fantastic (for both dinner and breakfast).

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazzag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A great place for a civil wedding and reception. The food at the reception and evening buffet was very good, never easy catering for different tastes at a wedding. The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with the staff catering for many different requests. Thoroughly recommend Alveston House Hotel as a place to stay or for that special event.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Alveston and an equally wonderful afternoon tea.

The Hotel is situated just off the main road but as soon as you step in you are in a fantastic, relaxing setting and feel like you are miles away!!

We enjoyed a champagne afternoon tea which was served in the lounge. I am a bit of an afternoon tea obsessive but I have to say my high standards were met. The food was classic and of a high standard. Served prompty with plenty of tea we could not ask for more. Staff were lovely and very welcoming.

Afterwards we sat in the pretty gardens at the back of the hotel and soaked up the April Sun. We will be back soon to enjoy the 3 course lunch, you will not be disappointed, this place is a real gem!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank movermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
4.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.9 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
1,023 reviews
6.5 mi away
Berwick Lodge
Berwick Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hallen
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range: £78 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing