We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stopped here on business last night and had a very warm welcome. The hotel is very well presented but the single room I had was rather on the small side. The food in the restaurant was good but a touch on the expensive side for what it was. I have a £25 allowance and was able to have a cheaper main course(no starter or dessert) and a small glass of wine for this. I would be happy to stop here again but I reserve 4/5 * reviews for exceptional places, this is nice not exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    82
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
95
89
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nicely presented hotel - made to feel very welcome. Made a great change from staying in budget type chains - not much more expensive but a much better experience all round. Dinner is a touch expensive but breakfast is excellent value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were happy to stay at the hotel were the wedding was taking place but made the assumption that the accommodation and service for overnight guests would be mediocre. How uninformed was I? From the moment we walked throughout the door nothing was too much trouble, in fact union reflection, we didn't test that out as we didn't have to ask,for anything, everything I could have asked for was offered and accommodated.

We ate I the restaurant on the first night of our stay and enjoyed a delightful meal in the hotel restaurant. We really enjoyed the food and service and would like to thank the staff again for their attentive and I obtrusive service.

In these circumstances 'thank you' seems so inappropriate however in this case I can assure anyone reading that I can think of nothing that might I,prove the service and experience of this hotel. I have no doubt that anyone staying at the Alveston will enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Perhaps a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This well appointed hotel is welcoming and friendly. The staff are attentive and smiling, and seem always ready and willing to assist. The restaurant is crisp and tidy and the menu enticing. I chose the Market Menu at £25 for three courses, each of which were extremely well presented and of a very high standard.
This was a comfortable and enjoyable stay and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed for one night over easter weekend. Booked two twin rooms executive style. Our room was large, hot during day, but cold and damp overnight, shower (over bath) had no hook, so had to use as hand held. Wash hand basin had radiator in front of it, so had to put towel on it to stop myself getting burnt (not good). WC Seat loose and bath panel loose and rescrewed for them twice. Bed hard and uncomfortable. On plus side, food good and staff very attentive. Would I stay again, no not at £120 for one room - very disappointed at what I thought was a brilliant place to stay. NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY EITHER DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF STEPS.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its excellent staff. We had a very warm welcome and from that point on nothing was ever too much trouble and several of our needs were anticipated. We were a family group and tables were set out for us to sit together in the lounge in the afternoon and in the bar in the evening. Every request to every staff member was met with a smile. A very happy and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildrhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, UK
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel in a good location. First night was a bit of a disaster as the heating in my room failed and I was bloody freezing - Luke warm shower too. However problem was fixed quickly so credit for that. Restaurant very nice - good menu but not cheap. Breakfast excellent. Staff very competent so overall I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
4.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.9 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
951 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
267 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Property: Alveston House Hotel
Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing