We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and Professional”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I often have to travel to Bristol for Business and have stayed in many different hotels, but this is definately my favourite. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I will be going there again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    82
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
94
87
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night this week in a deluxe twin on a dinner bed and breakfast price of £180. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, it looks like a chunk of money has been spent. Our room was well designed and decorated with a good bathroom. Dinner was very good, you can see that the management try to maintain high standards. Of course, this is only possible if you have the right staff and that is where this hotel really does well. So many hotels these days seem to be cutting right back to the bone on staffing levels, but at the Alveston there always seemed to be plenty of polite, eager and professional staff at hand. Well done!
Only one little niggle, in the bar they only had on draught Guinness and Carlsberg. Why no draught beers only bottles?
To sum up, this hotel is a tad on the expensive side but we feel it is worth it and it is good to see a small, independent hotel doing well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have been to this hotel twice now and intend to go back. I find the staff very engaging, professional and willing and have enjoyed some excellent food. The dining experience is thoroughly positive and breakfasts are first rate.
The location is ideal for me as I was attending meetings near Filton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I had previously got Married at Alveston House hotel on may 22nd 2010 we had our wedding reception at the hotel as well as the Ceremony. It was a fabulous day, beautiful weather and the whole day couldnt have been better. I was not at all stressed as the staff ran the Wedding for me it was a perfect day. My Friend Sue Sheffe attended my Wedding so then booked her Wedding and had the whole day at the hotel. It was a fab day it couldnt have ran better. The weather was good, the food was fabulous and the staff couldnt do enough for us. We also stayed the night and the room was great lots of room and a lovely view. One again breakfast was really good, nice and hot. The staff at this hotel are really outstanding they make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble !!!. Will defo be back if not for to say to have a meal in the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

The warmest of welcomes and a most agreeable place to stay. I can't praise the staff enough. Food excellent, restaurant and waiter a credit to the hotel industry, English breakfast one of the best I've had. A couple of tatty areas in the room and bathroom, but not enough to detract from what has been a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Staff are warm and most helpful, food is very good but pricy, rooms pleasant, bright and clean. Breakfast was especially good, with good choices. We enjoyed our stay here. It was part of our journey from Winchester/Bath on our way to Wales. Location is a bit far from the places we wanted to visit as first time visitors to the area but the staff were most helpful in answering questions and suggesting routes, and making us feel special.

Room Tip: Double room facing the front was fine, and we had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stopped here on business last night and had a very warm welcome. The hotel is very well presented but the single room I had was rather on the small side. The food in the restaurant was good but a touch on the expensive side for what it was. I have a £25 allowance and was able to have a cheaper main course(no starter or dessert) and a small glass of wine for this. I would be happy to stop here again but I reserve 4/5 * reviews for exceptional places, this is nice not exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
4.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
3.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lodge On The Park
Lodge On The Park
#3 of 5 in Almondsbury
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Property: Alveston House Hotel
Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing