We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding wedding celebration!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We celebrated our Vegas wedding back in the UK with family and friends at The Alveston House Hotel on 19th July. The whole celebration from start to finish was perfect. The venue, the food, the customer service - it was just how I imagined it would be and that was due to the staff at the hotel being so attentive to detail and making sure that we had the day that we wanted. Several guests have told me that it was the best 'wedding' they had been to. Outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Alveston House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Two adults and our two golden retrievers stayed on a blistering hot friday. the hotel is very easy to find being adjacent to the A38( but we didn't notice any road noise even though we had the windows wide open) .The staff are friendly, professional and very helpful . The delux room was a perfect size for us and the dogs and it was refreshing to have the dogs welcomed into the hotel. We had very good meals both at dinner and breakfast. An enjoyable stay and would definitely return under the same management.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peggy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Alveston House Hotel from a Saturday for 3 nights on a 3 course Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package. The hotel was pleasant, conveniently located for the motorways and local sights, albeit affected by the traffic noise from the immediately adjacent A38. This meant keeping the windows closed during the rather stuffy nights. The staff were extremely friendly and pleasant, they clearly enjoyed working the hotel, almost run with a family atmosphere.
Other than the noise, we were disappointed in the menu. The DBB package included a choice from their ‘Market Menu’ rather than the A La Carte. This gave us a choice of 3 dishes for each course worth £25. The menu is changed once a week on a Tuesday so we had a the same menu for 3 nights; main course chicken, salmon or vegetarian. We mentioned this and the chef kindly did a different sauce for the chicken on the third night. We did have the alternative of choosing from the far more expensive A La Carte menu but only using a transferable allowance of £20. This limited us just to a main course only as the £20 transfer would not pay for a main course together with a starter or desert as well. Avoid the DBB Market menu if you plan to stay for more than one night; unless of course you want to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the A38, get one at the back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneandMark2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just had a wonderful stay here for a wedding celebration and found everything very pleasant. Room we had was a double and as e were only on an overnight found it adequate, very clean and well appointed, it would have been a bit small for a longer stay but we were more than satisfied. Food was excellent and staff were friendly and very helpful. we arrived somewhat earlier than anticipated but rooms were ready and they allowed us to take occupancy early.
Bar was manned and the whole event went off very smoothly.

Room Tip: Ask first if you need a large room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful wedding weekend at the hotel.food beautiful ,staff friendly and attentive ,rooms clean and well equipped So nice to stay at a hotel that is not part of a chain Thanks to everyone who made stay so enjoyable

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank deniseBraunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we had our wedding day here on the 28th June, and what a wonderful day we and all our guests had. The hotel and all the staff were very attentative to our needs from the original meeting right up to the wedding day. The ceremony room is light and airy, the gardens are beautiful for your photos, the reception room was spacious with natural light, the food was first rate but above all else all the staff led by Lisa were excellent, they made sure everything was perfect from the time we arrived, and continued to look after us and our guests needs throughout the day, nothing was a problem to them.
The hotel contributed greatly to making our start to married life a very special one, we are so glad we used this hotel, where customer service is at its best, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a wedding or any special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary by having an afternoon cream tea for our family and friends at the hotel. The setting and food were excellent, and all the staff were very helpful and attentive. Everyone enjoyed themselves, and the hotel contributed greatly to making our anniversary a very special day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
4.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.9 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
977 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
3.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range: £76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing