We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Ripping up the dance floor"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alveston House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Ripping up the dance floor"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Attending a recent friend's 60th birthday party, the Alvaston House Hotel was recommended.

As it turned out, it was a real treat and totally fulfilled our needs from beginning to end.

A fabulous breakfast was provided before our long journey home on the M5.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    80
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
91
86
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is perfect. We had the pleasure of getting married here 3 years ago and came back for our anniversary! This hotel is faultless! Cannot recommend it enough. The food is out of this world and the staff are second to none, so friendly and helpful. Looking forward to coming back x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathstinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 1st time recently. No prior knowledge of hotel booked via internet. I found a Lovely hotel, clean & fresh room. Very polite & helpful staff. Good menu selection throughout the day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank podlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We celebrated our Vegas wedding back in the UK with family and friends at The Alveston House Hotel on 19th July. The whole celebration from start to finish was perfect. The venue, the food, the customer service - it was just how I imagined it would be and that was due to the staff at the hotel being so attentive to detail and making sure that we had the day that we wanted. Several guests have told me that it was the best 'wedding' they had been to. Outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Two adults and our two golden retrievers stayed on a blistering hot friday. the hotel is very easy to find being adjacent to the A38( but we didn't notice any road noise even though we had the windows wide open) .The staff are friendly, professional and very helpful . The delux room was a perfect size for us and the dogs and it was refreshing to have the dogs welcomed into the hotel. We had very good meals both at dinner and breakfast. An enjoyable stay and would definitely return under the same management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Alveston House Hotel from a Saturday for 3 nights on a 3 course Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package. The hotel was pleasant, conveniently located for the motorways and local sights, albeit affected by the traffic noise from the immediately adjacent A38. This meant keeping the windows closed during the rather stuffy nights. The staff were extremely friendly and pleasant, they clearly enjoyed working the hotel, almost run with a family atmosphere.
Other than the noise, we were disappointed in the menu. The DBB package included a choice from their ‘Market Menu’ rather than the A La Carte. This gave us a choice of 3 dishes for each course worth £25. The menu is changed once a week on a Tuesday so we had a the same menu for 3 nights; main course chicken, salmon or vegetarian. We mentioned this and the chef kindly did a different sauce for the chicken on the third night. We did have the alternative of choosing from the far more expensive A La Carte menu but only using a transferable allowance of £20. This limited us just to a main course only as the £20 transfer would not pay for a main course together with a starter or desert as well. Avoid the DBB Market menu if you plan to stay for more than one night; unless of course you want to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the A38, get one at the back.
See more room tips
Green Features: Average, nothing out of the ordinary, towel re-use was the only evident thing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneandMark2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABBOTS LANGLEY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just had a wonderful stay here for a wedding celebration and found everything very pleasant. Room we had was a double and as e were only on an overnight found it adequate, very clean and well appointed, it would have been a bit small for a longer stay but we were more than satisfied. Food was excellent and staff were friendly and very helpful. we arrived somewhat earlier than anticipated but rooms were ready and they allowed us to take occupancy early.
Bar was manned and the whole event went off very smoothly.

Room Tip: Ask first if you need a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
3.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Property: Alveston House Hotel
Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing