We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Only stayed one night as we were going to an event locally. Had a very nice afternoon tea in a sunny conservatory. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The reception staff were outstanding. They ordered a taxi for us which came on time, then unknown to me I inadvertently dropped my own car keys in the taxi while paying the driver. The driver realised later and contacted the hotel who left a message on my phone to let me know, but I did not look at my phone, so was in a total panic when we got back to the hotel later and could not find the keys. The lovely young man on the desk asked, as soon as we got in the door, if I had lost the car keys and told me they would be delivered back by breakfast time. What a relief. He had had to go through all the guests who had used a taxi to find one that had the same make of car as the keys which had been found, and deduced that it must be us. We slept well that night knowing the keys were found, helped also by the really comfortable bed with crisp white bed linen. The breakfast was excellent and service was very good. All the staff at this hotel were friendly and efficient and I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We actually had a room on the ground floor at the front, which would be good for wheelchair access o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nice privately run hotel.

The stay was made by the top quality service - service with a smile, efficient, delivered by a group of friendly staff. They would give a good lesson to staff at numerous large, group-run (more expensive) hotels. I would note that the great service started from the point of booking a room and continued throughout the stay.

Overall the hotel was nice and clean, a pleasant stay. My only hesitation about marking this a "five" is that the prices would be more deserving of a bit of an update on the room decor and bath/shower unit.

Location wise, very convenient for getting down to Bristol so a good place to stay if trying to avoid being in the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely hotel with first class accomadation ,good food and helpful staff. A gem in the hotel world
and would happily recommend to anyone wanting a better class of hotel. On a rating of 1 - 10 its
got to be 10.

Nick H

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NICHOLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went to an 80th birthday lunch here and overall it was a very enjoyable afternoon. Very helpful staff in a nice calm environment with unhurried no rush service. However, I was disappointed with the meal content. No complaints about the quality or the presentation but a piece of salmon with a few new potatoes and some rocket, to me doesn't command a £12-13 price tag. I have never had such a meal without some sort of vegetables. The starter was lovely as was the dessert so that keeps my rating up. Another in our party thought the stir fry was a bit bland, didn't taste any ginger.
That said, it wasn't all bad,it was a nice family get together and we were all well treated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DrandDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A small friendly hotel with excellent staff. The food in the restaurant was superb and they accommodated a vegan in the party at short notice. Rooms are comfortable but would have liked the window to open more as there is no air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bedfordsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our daughter got married at this hotel, lovely marriage service with a nice garden to take the photos. After the service we had a great reception with excellent food, the management and staff were marvellous nothing was to much trouble and there attention to detail was great. The evening party was good with an excellent buffet. We stayed overnight and the accommodation was good, a lovely large and comfortable bed and a good sized room. In the morning we had an excellent breakfast, the hotel is not far away from the M4/M5 Almondsbury interchange.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Attending a recent friend's 60th birthday party, the Alvaston House Hotel was recommended.

As it turned out, it was a real treat and totally fulfilled our needs from beginning to end.

A fabulous breakfast was provided before our long journey home on the M5.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
4.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
1,005 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
15 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing