We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
283
99
31
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
99
31
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriages restaurant afternoon tea scones an overnight stay single room friends wedding lovely hotel warm welcome comfortable room course meal lounge area special occasion salmon food was lovely following morning stayed for one night full english
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Quiet hotel close to major road network,but dog walks on doorstep.Clean comfortable and welcoming to us and our 2 dogs. Nothing too much trouble and we were able to be seated in a lovely conservatory with the mutts.Major highlight was a “ cooked to order “ breakfast, my husband has eating difficulties and his needs were more than met .

Room tip: Phone prior to stay,larger rooms better, windows open!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TedBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C, General Manager at Alveston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our dog friendly reputation and try our hardest to accommodate all requirements for pets and their owners! We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

2nd visit here. Big plus for dog friendliness with enclosed rear gardens. Staff very friendly, good value, nice breakfast. Slightly old fashioned for some tastes but will definitely return when visiting relatives.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 229DaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We had originally booked in at another hotel but they didn’t allow dogs. On calling the Alveston House Hotel, they did accept dogs which was fantastic and allowed for us to be able to enjoy Christmas with our family easily without having to worry about Biscuit (our JRT). Check in was easy and everyone made a fuss of Biscuit (who was very excited!!) and we were shown to our room which was conveniently near the door to the garden.

The room was very comfortable, clean and quite large so easy to cope with a dog. It also look as though it has been renovated fairly recently as the decor was modern and well furnished. Complimentary biscuits (the edible kind not the dog) with the tea and hot chocolate was also a nice finishing touch.

The outside garden was great although as there was a pond we had to keep the little rascal on the lead or he would have been in with the fish. There were several other dogs staying at the hotel as well and we met a fair few of them. None of the dogs were a problem and it was actually quite nice to see people being able to stay away from home with their entire family. We were able to take him into the conservatory with us for breakfast which made things easier as he might not have been great staying by himself in the room as he can get anxious in new places.

All in all, our two night stay was great and when we come to visit family again we would definitely pick Alveston House Hotel over other options. Thank you for working your Christmas so we could enjoy ours, it was much appreciated.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cazscott2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C, General Manager at Alveston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2018

What a lovely review. Thank you so much for your comments. We are genuinely pet friendly as you have seen and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and, of course, Biscuit, when you are next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018

Wow very good service from beginning to end , as it was pouring with rain , the hotel lent our driver with an umbrella to stop us getting wet , with a lot of old lady's in our party so that help , took our coats from us to hang up . When the meal came out very hot , sweet (white chocolate cheesecake to die for ) fantastic staff very helpful , could not fault this place and certainly will come back

Room tip: Don't know
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C, General Manager at Alveston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2018

Thank you for your review. Your comments are much appreciate and will be passed to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you all again in 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Went for a Christmas lunch with friends.
Quiet restaurant with only one other table of diners. No festive atmosphere. The room was a little chilly. Set Christmas menu was ok but overpriced compared to other local Christmas menus. All restaurant staff had disappeared when we wanted to pay the bill. We were the only ones there.
We were shocked when we tracked down staff in the hotel reception. The drinks bill was Very overpriced. A very small glass of prosecco, which was not even two thirds full, was £7.50!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C, General Manager at Alveston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2018

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at the Hotel and.apologise for the lack of staff present at the end of your meal. This should not have been the case. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure that this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews