We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in a lovely quiet location yet only a short drive from Bristol. Our room was large and clean and had a balcony overlooking the cricket field. It is a shame that there were no chairs out on it as it was a lovely summer evening and we could have happily sat out with a bottle of wine while the kids were safely sleeping in the room. Nice pub restaurant on site. Ideal base for exploring Bristol.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was treated to 'Room 1A'. I guess the clue should have been in the title. Not one of the regular rooms, but as i found out later, a converted room that had previously been a staff room. The noise from the stairwell doors and stairs kept me awake most of the night. The paid-for wifi was at times weak, most of the time nonexistent. The room was small, dark, and a miserable experience. The icing on the cake was next morning. After waiting 10 minutes to be seated at breakfast, on the advice of another guest, I just sat down and helped myself to a cold packeted croissant. Dire. The only good news was that after complaining, I received a full refund for the room, wifi and breakfast. Never again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn A, Receptionist at Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Just a friendly suggestion please feel free to come to reception and raise your concerns about the room and we would be very happy to move you to a better room. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On reading some reviews for this hotel we where very surprised that it could have received negative feedback. The room we had was large by any standard, and the surprise was the balcony overlooking the cricket field. No match in progress due to the weather. The receptionists where very helpful and friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HovisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed over after a wedding opposite the Premier. Receptionist on checking in was very helpful, room was great, very clean and a good size, we were extremely pleased with our stay . Breakfast was also good and I would highly recommend it. Usually have trouble with phone signal in these places but was pleasantly suprised and had a full signal constantly. Would definitely use the hotel again .

Room Tip: We had room 6 which has a balcony and looks out onto the cricket fields , highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on route to Devon arrived about 2045 to a warm and friendly receptionist. Although the building is old and needs (and is receiving) some TLC, was clean and comfortable. The pub next door was okay but not very 'family' friendly ok if your a couple but if your traveling with children and their easily bored stand by to hear them tell you that....A lot. !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Reception very helpful. The first room she gave us although nice and clean had an overpowering smell of paint fumes. Was moved to room 3, at first this room seemed to be acceptable but later in the evening we noticed in several places ants appearing. We didn't want to wake the children so decided to put up with it. By the morning there were many more ants, also got into our luggage. Before leaving we reported this and the receptionist was apologetic and arranged a refund. Even though we had these problems the staff were very good. Despite the outside of the building, which did not look appealing the rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. Shame about the problems.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bit of a mixed bag at this venue. First of all there are renovation works being carried out which, to be fair, I was informed about and it's not a major issue as I knew I wouldn't be looking at the outside once I was in.
Having stayed in Premier Inns all over the place I was just a bit disappointed that they appear to have started the outside before the inside as the interior is pretty dated to say the least.
It's clean enough and the staff are very very good it just needs a revamp, Nothing to do with the hotel but mobile signal appears to drop off the face of the earth as well which is frustrating.
Overall not bad, but i probably wouldn't use this particular one again as i need the phone signal for work

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDAylesburyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
0.2 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
398 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Severn View M48
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Almondsbury Interchange Hotel
4.4 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel

Address: Thornbury Road | Nr. Bristol, Alveston BS35 3LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LIKE TO TELL ALL GUESTS THAT THE SHIP IS NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AND NOW ALSO HAVE NEW KITCHEN MANAGEMENT!!! Premier Inn Hotel Bristol Alveston gives you the best of both worlds: a lovely rural setting paired with top-notch transport links. Close to the M5, M4 and M48 we're a great stop-off on the road to Cornwall, Devon and Wales, as well as local attractions. Hit the shops at Cribbs Causeway or hit the greens at Thornbury Golf Club. Get your fashion fix in Bristol City Centre. Or, if you're here on business, you'll find Thornbury Trading Estate, Aztec West and Filton Airbus just minutes away. Once you're done, come back and relax in one of our new generation bedrooms featuring an impressive 40" flat screen TV, bright, modern bathroom with large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: From the north: Exit M5(J14) towards A38 to Bristol, 5 miles to Hotel. From the south: Exit M5(J16) towards A38 to Gloucester, 4 miles to hotel. Next to the Ship Inn. Transport and local information: Cribbs Causeway Shopping Mall Thornbury Golf Course Bristol Zoo Parkway Train Station 6 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel Alveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing