We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff where very polite i would recomend this hotel . It was very close to where i wanted to be and my partner was very impressed with the the hotel and how clean it was .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    213
    72
    15
    8
See reviews for
216
210
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent staff especially the reception teamwhowere extremely welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but not fast. Just a shame about the very poor reception for my mobile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Does what it says on the tin.A countryside location with only a small amount of noise from the A road along side. Large comfortable room overlooking the cricket ground. Clean facilities. Staff were helpul and friendly. Don't do any meals - a pub
is next door which has nothing to do with the hotel.
We didn't take breakfast there but did hear residents complaining about the quality of it to reception. She said she would give feedback to the pub.
The building is a bit 'sixties-looking' and doesn't look particularly inviting, however the
location and warm welcome more than outweighed that negative.
It was surrounded by scaffolding when we were there, apparently due to painting the extererior. It is undergoing a general refurbishment but we weren't disturbed by it.
Choose a room furthest from the road and with a balcony overlooking the cricket pitch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having booked in for a long weekend break without telling the hotel that we had married only the day before our arrival,our welcome was a beautiful surprise....heart shaped balloons festooned the room,towels were arranged on the bed in the form of 2 kissing swans (making a perfect heart shape with their necks)....red heart confetti was scattered everywhere...a card from the staff...and a bottle of wine with 2 glasses.... Evidently one of our children had contacted the hotel without us knowing! The meals we took in the adjacent restaurant were fabulous as well!

Room Tip: (For cricket lovers!) The hotel overlooks a beautiful cricket ground belonging to Thornbury Cricket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdcmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a nice location but is a fair distance from the city centre and industrial areas.

The rooms are dated as are the communal areas of the hotel. It has the feeling of a 60's motel.

The wi-fi and phone reception are non-existent.

I tried to use the in room phone only to find out it
was internal calls only.

I then tried, without success, to pay for internet access only to be seemingly kicked out prior to payment on several occasions.

So, I was less than pleased to see that on receipt of my credit card bill, I had been charged not once, not twice, but three times.

So if you want to get away from it all, it'd be a good plan to book here !

If, however, you need to keep in touch with home and
work, it is not an ideal situation.

The continental breakfast was pretty bad and service wasn't great. The 'fresh' fruit seemed less than fresh and the croissants were pre packed long life type.

For the price charged, it is not good value.

The saving graces were the pub next door and the reception staff.

The pub was lovely with great staff, a well thought out and diverse menu and a wide variety of drinks available.

The staff in hotel reception both on arrival were warm, friendly and helpful. A definite asset to the
business.

Could be a great little hotel but in need of a serious makeover (inside and out) and some money spent on improving the phone and internet connectivity.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in a lovely quiet location yet only a short drive from Bristol. Our room was large and clean and had a balcony overlooking the cricket field. It is a shame that there were no chairs out on it as it was a lovely summer evening and we could have happily sat out with a bottle of wine while the kids were safely sleeping in the room. Nice pub restaurant on site. Ideal base for exploring Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I was treated to 'Room 1A'. I guess the clue should have been in the title. Not one of the regular rooms, but as i found out later, a converted room that had previously been a staff room. The noise from the stairwell doors and stairs kept me awake most of the night. The paid-for wifi was at times weak, most of the time nonexistent. The room was small, dark, and a miserable experience. The icing on the cake was next morning. After waiting 10 minutes to be seated at breakfast, on the advice of another guest, I just sat down and helped myself to a cold packeted croissant. Dire. The only good news was that after complaining, I received a full refund for the room, wifi and breakfast. Never again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn A, Receptionist at Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Just a friendly suggestion please feel free to come to reception and raise your concerns about the room and we would be very happy to move you to a better room. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
0.2 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
1.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Address: Thornbury Road | Nr. Bristol, Alveston BS35 3LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LIKE TO TELL ALL GUESTS THAT THE SHIP IS NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AND NOW ALSO HAVE NEW KITCHEN MANAGEMENT!!! Premier Inn Hotel Bristol Alveston gives you the best of both worlds: a lovely rural setting paired with top-notch transport links. Close to the M5, M4 and M48 we're a great stop-off on the road to Cornwall, Devon and Wales, as well as local attractions. Hit the shops at Cribbs Causeway or hit the greens at Thornbury Golf Club. Get your fashion fix in Bristol City Centre. Or, if you're here on business, you'll find Thornbury Trading Estate, Aztec West and Filton Airbus just minutes away. Once you're done, come back and relax in one of our new generation bedrooms featuring an impressive 40" flat screen TV, bright, modern bathroom with large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: From the north: Exit M5(J14) towards A38 to Bristol, 5 miles to Hotel. From the south: Exit M5(J16) towards A38 to Gloucester, 4 miles to hotel. Next to the Ship Inn. Transport and local information: Cribbs Causeway Shopping Mall Thornbury Golf Course Bristol Zoo Parkway Train Station 6 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel Alveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing