We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Hunter's Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter's Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

stayed 2/06/14 comfortable room, good breakfast, and excellent evening meal, staff all friendly and helpful, made to feel welcomed, would stay here again, and recommend it. I consider it good value. This a handy place to stay, as we were at Highgrove gardens for 11.30 next day, and also had time to look at pretty Tetbury.

Room Tip: stayed in ground floor rear room 1. nice and quiet got a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you had a lovely day at Highgrove.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've put location as excellent, but that's because we wanted a place with no phone reception miles from anywhere.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the value for money was great (£55 with a fantastic breakfast).

The bed is the best I've ever slept in. Seriously comfortable.

Views from the room were lovely, looking over the Cotswolds, dinner in the restaurant was very good and amazing value.

The place is olde worlde, with stone walls and exposed beams, open fires (not lit at this time of year) and very cosy.

Internet isn't the best, but there is free cloud connection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely and generous comments!

It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return to us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a golf day booked at Cotswold Edge and this place is handy and a 5 minute drive away, lovely building, I was housed in the annex next door to the pub, room as clean and bright, had all the usual refinements, TV, tea and coffee, etc. Bathroom was a little scruffy but clean with nice towels etc.
Breakfast was very good, I also used the restraunt the night before, food was usual pub std, service was very good.
On the whole this is a good place to stay, nothing outstanding but you get what you pay for.
I had a first floor room next to the road, it was a quiet road so the traffic was not a problem. Not sure if I was lucky the night I stayed or not but I would imagine if the road was busier it could annoy some people?

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the road if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback for us.

We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and that you received good service from our team during your stay. We have taken your comments on board regarding the room and we should shortly be under-going maintenance to revitalise them.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a delicious meal in friendly, welcoming atmosphere. It is hard to find places that serve proper food beyond 2:30pm so this was a wonderful surprise. They also allow dogs in bar area, where they serve the full menu. Lamb and burgers highly recommended.....just leave room for ice cream!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAelaPeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope you will return to us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great location for weddings at Kingscote and The Matara Centre. Room was quite run down, with the shelf missing from the bathroom (so toiletries had to be kept on the floor) and a fairly stuffy room. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the staff were lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are currently in the process of having the bathroom shelf replaced but we are very sorry for any inconvenience it caused during your visit.

However, we are glad to hear you had a comfortable night and that our team were provided you with good service. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just returned from a one night stay at Hunter's Hall Inn. The Inn is very conveniently situated for a few wedding venues. It has an Olde Worlde charm, though some parts including the main entrance door are scruffy. We only had a quick lunch which seemed fine and we had a delicious cooked breakfast. However we paid over £100 for an awful room and a very neglected bathroom. The room had a 4' 6" mattress perched on a 5' bed base, it had unmatching bedside tables and an incredibly noisy radiator that needed bleeding. The room had two doors, one to the bathroom and one to a lobby with wardrobes. These doors were different colours and the bathroom door had been hung upside down! The bathroom was very tired but worse than that there were 2 out of 3 lights not working. So couldn't see to put makeup on or shave. When we mentioned this to the chambermaids they just shrugged and said 'we know'. This suggested nothing was going to be done about it.

We also had a problem getting into our room before the wedding despite having requested this in advance. We arrived at 11.40 and asked if we could get into our room by 1pm. We were told that 3 people were ahead of us. Now I find this totally bewildering. There were only 13 rooms, and we were chased out of our room soon after 10 on the Sunday morning. Surely they could get 4 rooms ready by 1pm?

The staff seemed very helpful but all in all we were disappointed with our stay.

Room Tip: Maybe our room, 12, was the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback for us.

We hope that you will accept our sincere apologies that the room you had was not up to our usual standard. We are currently under going maintenance to our hotel rooms but please be assured that we will talk to our housekeeping team about keeping us more informed of any maintenance issues.

We are very sorry that you weren't able to use your room straight away. We appreciate that guests going to weddings often need to access their room earlier than the normal check-in time of 2:00pm and we do try our best to be accommodating, but we do inform all guests apon booking that we cannot guarantee their room will be clean and ready to use. As check-out time is at 11:00am it is often difficult for our housekeepers to access them in order to have them ready.

We are very sorry that your experience with us was disappointing but thank you again for giving us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was a delightful place to have lunch. Have driven passed many times but just hadn't thought to try. Definitely will be going again.
We had 2 ham, egg and chips off the 2 for £9.99 menu plus another guest had nachos - all cooked to perfection
For dessert we had the "sharing" fairground attraction for 2. This was definitely the highlight of the meal (a combination of candy floss ice cream, mini doughnuts, tiny cherry apples dipped in toffee and popcorn)
The staff were efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was just right.
Can imagine it would get quite busy during peak holidays as there is a great play area in the garden

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback for us!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and are very lucky to have such a wonderful country pub atmosphere so we hope that you will visit us again soon and take full advantage of our food promotions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
1.9 mi away
The Priory
The Priory
#1 of 1 in Horsley
6 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
730 reviews
4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
7.8 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hall Inn

Address: Kingscote GL8 8XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £51 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter's Hall Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cotswolds between Tetbury and Dursley with access from both the M5 and M4, the Hotel has been welcoming travellers for over 500 years and retains many period features. 12 newly refurbished en suite bedrooms are located in the converted stable block. Our award winning restaurant is open lunchtimes and evenings and we have large gardens with a new childrens play area. Full conference facilities are available for the business user. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hunter's Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hall Tetbury
Hunter's Hall Inn Kingscote, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing