We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - fantastic breakfast!”
Review of Hunter's Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter's Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here to attend a wedding at the matara centre which is just across the road. The room rate was very fair for what we got. The room was a generous size (plenty of room for a travel cot) and the bathroom was lovely and spacious. The room was clean and tidy. There was a kettle in our room but no mugs or tea/coffee - which isn't really a problem for us as we aren't big on hot drinks. I'm also sure that a quick visit to reception would have fixed this issue.

I have to rave about the breakfast that we received included with our room rate! It was fantastic. There was a buffet which had pastries and cereals (nothing too special) but had a menu that you could order cooked food which was fantastic. It was cooked to order but quickly and tasted great (I had the croque madame - highly recommend). I was very pleased to find that it was all included in the room rates.

I didn't eat dinner at the pub but it has a fantastic pub garden with a play area for children. The surrounding area is a beautiful part of the country so I'm sure you don't have to go far for a lovely country walk. Tetbury,a short drive away, is a nice little place for a wander and a coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank World42Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a lovely time at the wedding.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments, we hope that if you are in the area again you will return to us for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent the night here. Room was very tired, Bed very comfy, clean bedding. Toilet was a lot to be desired,, Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast not the best I have had but ok.

If you need to book a taxi. Go for Phil Colletts. We booked this taxi via the hotel who give you a list. He was very very helpful and very reasonable. He even waited 20 mins for us at a very small charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We really appreciate you leaving your feedback for us so we can assess what needs to be improved upon in our hotel so thank you for your useful comments.

The team are very glad to hear that you found them friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us and we all hope that you will come and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked a room at this inn so as to be near to Highgrove which we were visiting the following day. Booked in on the Monday after a long trip from Cambs. Made very welcome on arrival and rooms airy and clean, although rather on the basic side. Decided to have dinner at the inn and the food was lovely, so good in fact that we ate there the second night. Extremely good value for money and would eat there often if it were nearer to home! Super choice of menu and all perfectly cooked. Breakfast was included in the room price and the full English again couldn't have been bettered, especially the lovely bacon and sausage. Would recommend this inn for very good value for money, and should I visit Highgrove again would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback for us and for the lovely remarks you have made.

It is fantastic to hear that you feel it is good value for money and we hope that you had a lovely day at Highgrove.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We love this pub we first got together 5 years ago (both widowed) and this was One of the first places that we visited so it has a special place in both our hearts we have always been welcomed and love the pub almost every time I ask my new partner where shall we go tonight the answer is KINGSCOTE Staff are wonderful and the meals are such good value
We live about 25 miles from the pub but it is always worth the journey this pub has a special place in both our hearts I do hope that the staff do not read this review as they may recognize us treat us even better (that would be impossible) so this is my view of this pub that I cannot fault We have never stayed at the pub overnight but as a friendly pub it is wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments!

It makes our team very proud to know that you feel they have given you such good service and that you are willing to drive so far out of your way to come and visit us.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback for us and we hope you will come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for a one night stayed with a wedding party which was having a wedding at the Matara venue across the road.
Paid £120 for a one night stay so was expecting a good standard of room and service. Room was of a good size, but decor and finish is very poor, like a poor DIY job unfortunately. The bed was essentially two singles pushed together. The room had absolutely no sundries like shampoo or soap etc etc. No tea or Coffee facilities. Room was situated in the building away from the main Inn and it could do with a general tidy up. Main road is very loud and noisy as it runs directly along the back of the building.
During the morning when the wedding party was arriving the pub decided it was a good idea to have the drains serviced.....Bit of poor timing in my opinion. The manager/owner woman was also rude and lacks customer service skills.
It's a shame because the whole place has a lot of potential, it's just not quite there for me.
Would have been fine for £45 a night tops, but for £120 you expect a lot more than us actually offered you. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB19988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience with us during your stay last weekend.

We do provide tea/coffee facilities in the desks of all our rooms but we are very sorry if it was not clear for you.

We should also provide shampoo, body wash and lotion in all of our rooms but we are very sorry if these were not present in your room; we will talk to our housekeeping team to make sure every room is provided for in the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies if the drain service caused you any inconvenience. The drain outside out the main door had become blocked causing sewage to flow onto the path so unfortunately it became fairly urgent that it was seen to.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback for us so we can make the necessary improvements, we are again very sorry that we let you down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

stayed 2/06/14 comfortable room, good breakfast, and excellent evening meal, staff all friendly and helpful, made to feel welcomed, would stay here again, and recommend it. I consider it good value. This a handy place to stay, as we were at Highgrove gardens for 11.30 next day, and also had time to look at pretty Tetbury.

Room Tip: stayed in ground floor rear room 1. nice and quiet got a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you had a lovely day at Highgrove.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've put location as excellent, but that's because we wanted a place with no phone reception miles from anywhere.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the value for money was great (£55 with a fantastic breakfast).

The bed is the best I've ever slept in. Seriously comfortable.

Views from the room were lovely, looking over the Cotswolds, dinner in the restaurant was very good and amazing value.

The place is olde worlde, with stone walls and exposed beams, open fires (not lit at this time of year) and very cosy.

Internet isn't the best, but there is free cloud connection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Hunter's Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely and generous comments!

It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return to us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
7.8 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
33 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
163 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
583 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
5.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hall Inn

Address: Kingscote GL8 8XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter's Hall Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cotswolds between Tetbury and Dursley with access from both the M5 and M4, the Hotel has been welcoming travellers for over 500 years and retains many period features. 12 newly refurbished en suite bedrooms are located in the converted stable block. Our award winning restaurant is open lunchtimes and evenings and we have large gardens with a new childrens play area. Full conference facilities are available for the business user. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter's Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hall Tetbury
Hunter's Hall Inn Kingscote, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing