We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday afternoon get together”
Review of The Wro

The Wro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in West Kirby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon get together”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited with friends for a catch up over a lesiurely lunch! The service was great and the food was fabulousand plentiful. Surroundings are lovely and the staff very friendly. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally b b, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Brilliant - thanks for the great comments - a real boost for the team who work hard to give the best experience. Appreciate your time posting your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    113
    53
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Early Evening Meal with friends”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Wro restaurant was buzzing on 26/7/14 @ 5pm. I had booked {fortunately) for early meal with friends. Lovely summer evening, but all outside tables reserved, however our given table was comfortable and cool (in the sense it was so hot that afternoon). The staff were friendly, attentive and informative [especially the Lily Allen look-alike!}.
Before 7pm, The Wro offers 2 courses for £13.95 Saturday night [ £12.95 rest of week), delicious food, cooked well and presented attractively. Excellent value for money and the bottle of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc was well priced at £15. We took the train from Liverpool to West Kirkby, the Wro is a short walk from the train station. Good ambiance in restaurant and lovely food. A successful evening.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally b b, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback - great to hear that you had a good time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointing ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the wro on a lovely hot day (the old post office wro) very dissapointing ...had to order inside at the bar for our meal and then when I needed extra chips after meal arrived had to go bk to the bar to order again, table service ???? ...chips never came so asked for refund on the chips as we had finished our lunch twenty minutes later ...white van parked directly in front of our table on double yellows to drop off delivery for 15 minutes ...A goats cheese salad ..prawn cocktail and three tiny Bruchettas two regular diet cokes and a shandy came to nearly thirty pound ...West kirby officially out of the recession lol

Helpful?
6 Thank Mattandhiscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally b b, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service and value. We ordinarily get great comments on both our team and the food offer. Please accept apologies also re the delivery van - all our suppliers are given explicit instructions to deliver before we open - so have addressed this one too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Wro”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I like Wro Lounge and have been a regular customer over the years. We got a friendly, warm welcome and service was very good throughout. Just wanted to say that I had the salmon sandwich and, at over £7, I was disappointed to find that it was served on pre-sliced poor quality bread. I wouldn't even mind paying a bit extra for proper bread which the majority of places serve. Decor and ambience is good making it a pleasant place to dine though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally b b, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments - disappointed that you were disappointed with the choice of bread but take this into account as we work on future menus. Glad you like the place though-hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I had breakfast here on the Saturday of The Open. My husband and daughter had the full English, I had scrambled eggs on toast, her partner had corned beef hash.
All the meals were very nicely presented in lovely surroundings, food was very good, and the staff were attentive.
We will probably return for a meal there soon as we were so impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally b b, Owner at The Wro, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks - glad you enjoyed the experience and for taking the time to let us know .. very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wro also viewed

 

Been to The Wro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing