We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and comfortable”
Review of CaldersCroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CaldersCroft
Ranked #1 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent B&B, and we have stayed in a few... Milk for the complementary tea was fresh in a flask and not those plastic mini-buckets. Parking for two on the hardstanding front, but the area (upmarket) was almost deserted and parking plentiful. Just a very short walk to the seafront and a 15 min slow, flat walk into the village - plenty of shops/outlets. We could not finish the enormous breakfast. Nothing too much trouble for your host.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAP_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
80
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When the sat nav took us on to a housing estate my husband asked if we had come to the right place. We could not see the views or beach at first so we parked up to look around before entering the house. Across the road and down a pathway is the beach and the fabulous outlook to the sea. Turn right and its a 10 minute stroll to West Kirby which is a pleasant town with one or two wine bars and a couple of pubs. It is more about walking across the sand to the Islands than a busy tourist place.
Back to the guest house. We had the Bay room at the front which was spacious, clean and gorgeous. A sofa in the window is a great place to relax and glimpse the sea.
The breakfast had everything on the plate that is on any great hotel menu, it was scrumptious and we did not need to eat again all day.
Michael was a very amiable chap and as others have said he is quite willing to take guests into town and recommended places to go. He was someone you could just get along with.

The suggestion by Michael to take the train and the ferry to visit Liverpool was taken up by ourselves, but we found as it was sunday trains had a difficult time table so we drove to Seacombe and parked for free and got the ferry across the Mersey. Great day at Albert Dock.

Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's all been said by others, I can only reiterate that this is a superb B&B, expertly run by Michael. You can find cheaper, but you won't find better. Everything was top notch: presentation, cleanliness, facilities and cooking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Hosteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A comfortable chair in a hotel room!!! In fact an altogether comfortable room. Nice touches like fresh flowers and fresh milk.

Very chatty host which I liked being chatty myself. Great breakfast, lots of choice of yoghurts and a very large cooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Classed as a B&B - this will surprise you. A B&B on paper it is but not the B&B you have come to expect over the years.

This place is the most tip-top B&B I've ever stayed in and you have a host with the most with Michael. It really is a great place to stay if you are on the Wirral. It is fantastic.

I warn you now, if you are not a massive meat eater, ask to scale the breakfast down. This is a breakfast you would not believe. It is humongous. A biblical breakfast.

All in all, as recommendations go, I would go back next weekend. The location is desirable, the host is a diva and the walk to West Kirkby on a beautiful summers evening is exquisite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwwlsnr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome place to stay.

First of all simply put its in a great quiet location but easy to get to and find. If you are travelling to Merseyside you MUST stop here, forget your soulless premier inns, this is so much better value for money.

The room we had was Bay View, it was so clean, fresh flowers, fresh fruit which was refreshed during our 2 night stay, a very comfy bed, a huge bath, a great shower all en-suite, fresh robes, tea and coffee, cappuccino and biscuits including, kitkat, twix, timeouts, so well above your typical B&B. The furnishings are first rate in the lounge and dining room. This is definitely a top quality boutique B&B.

Your stay is complete with Michael who is the most unique host, he is so friendly, so funny, so kind and so generous. Our first morning breakfast we couldn't eat a lot due to a meal the night before, but Michael insisted on us taking plentiful amounts of bacon sandwiches with us for our day to Liverpool.

I know Calders croft has only been open 9weeks but you wouldn't guess as Michael is so good at it. We wish Michael every success, and would especially recommend this place to American travellers who value the service first mentality so much, which Michael is so good at.
Mike & Nicci Higginson

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeHYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I could not recommend Calderscroft highly enough. Michael's house and our bedroom were to a 5 star level. His attention to detail is perfect; a fruit basket, bathrobes etc. Michael recommended a beautiful restaurant to us, drove us to the restaurant and came in to have a drink with us! He is extremely entertaining and funny!! His breakfasts are wonderful, with huge portions! I can safely say we have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast as beautiful as Calderscroft. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
4.8 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
782 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
273 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
42 Caldy Road
42 Caldy Road
#2 of 5 in West Kirby
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CaldersCroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CaldersCroft

Property: CaldersCroft
Address: 10 Melloncroft Drive | Caldy, West Kirby CH48 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your CaldersCroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CaldersCroft West Kirby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing