We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation friendly host”
Review of CaldersCroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CaldersCroft
Ranked #1 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation friendly host”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A short but thoroughly pleasant stay at Calders Croft with the proprietor Michael a very friendly host. Breakfast with generous fresh fruit salad choice and choice of pastries was first class. Room well proportioned (Willow) with a good shower and bathroom and spotlessly clean. Nice touch of milk in flask and selection of chocolates. Overall thoroughly recommended and extremely easy to visit Liverpool by parking at Hoylake (free) and then combination ferry and train ticket for around £4,60 return. Milan restaurant in West Kirby excellent and recommended to us by Michael . Suffice it to say we intend to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow which was fine and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
79
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is an odd review as we've yet to stay at CaldersCroft. But I just have to write about how superbly the owner dealt with a mix-up over bookings. When we arrived and found out that things weren't quite right with the booking process I was naturally quite frustrated, but the owner really stepped up to the mark, even though the actual problem wasn't his fault in any way. He resolved the situation to our complete satisfaction and on that basis we would definitely recommend this establishment! The truth is, things with travel arrangements and bookings do sometimes go wrong but it's how people deal with it that really makes the difference between ordinary and exceptional and in my experience this is an exceptional place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed at several B&B's and this is by far the best in the area! We are almost reluctant to share Calderscroft with Tripadvisor at the risk of being unable to book when visiting, but it really is a superb little B&B. Michael made us very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in the Bay suite and our friends in the Willow. Rooms are decorated beautifully; modern bathrooms equipped with luxury big bath sheets; and beds you don't want to leave. The breakfast should also get a big mention... Full English cooked to perfection and accompanied by fresh fruit salad, yogurts, pastries, freshly squeezed juice and fresh filtered coffee. We shall be back sooner rather then later!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and have something special to offer its guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I came across this beautiful accommodation by pure and utter chance.
From the second you step foot through the front door you'll be made to feel like Royalty by Michael the owner. Nothing is to much bother for this man and he will cater for all your needs. I've never stayed anywhere were upon asking for an iron that the owner actually takes your clothes and irons them for you!! Top Class is all I can say.
The room itself was really comfortable along with the en-suite which was beautiful and well maintained! It was a nice touch finding the draw stocked with little chocolate goodies and 'fresh' milk to accompany the hot beverage selections.
If you want any local advice or recommendations on places to eat, drink or visit then Michael's the man for you. He'll even ring up and book you a table!!
If you feel that things can't get any better then wait for the cooked 'BREAKFAST' in the morning, it is absolutely HUGE. It brings a whole new meaning to the phrase 'set up for the day'
Anyway - Take my advice and try this place out!
Thanks once again Michael, I wish you all the best for the future :)
Stephen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We found this beautiful Boutique accommodation and enjoyed our stay from the 1st November to the 4th November 2013.On arrival, we were greeted by "MICHAEL" The Proprietor of this stunning Bed & Breakfast. He welcomed both myself and my husband wonderfully, nothing was too much trouble for him, he went way beyond anything we expected.Our Room "The Willow" was superb in every way, I have just overcome a operation and I was on crutches, and he was so helpful, His sense of Humour is brilliant I felt so comfortable in his company.He worked so hard to make our stay a very very enjoyable one.Dont know what the Review 8/3 is talking about toiletries. You can see Michael has a very good taste for quality products with the " Molton Brown and Loccotaine products, what does it matter if there were not the same hair and shower products after all he does not need to provide those kind of things.... we always take our own. With respect to the television, I managed to lay on our bed, and could see the TV without a problem,,,,, lovely and warm in our room for the duration of our stay.Coffee and assorted tea's lovely little treats also.Fresh flowers and and bowl of fruit was a lovely touch.Micheal even rang the Milan and booked our table on the Saturday night I would highly recommend a trip, food excellent. Michael's breakfast were huge with plenty of options, fresh fruit salad and various quality yogurts and pastries served on beautiful crockery.All I can say is I will be going back with friends at a later date and will certainly promote this fabulous accommodation to family and friends.Only one thing left to say Once you meet " Michael" you will love him he his wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Willow"room, but all of his rooms are fabulous.Superb walk in shower lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Found this beautiful bnb by chance and i live in westkirby,,,,,my parents come every 6/8weeks to see myself and there grandchildren and coming a distance of 250miles plus they need a good place to stay as we have no spare room. WOW is the word my parents said it was the best bnb they have ever stayed in,so friendly micheal is the best host they have ever had,breakfast is amazing,room was superb,micheal has excelled himself he knows his stuff!!!!

My parents will be staying here every time they visit,thanks micheal for looking after my parents,i will be recommending you to all,keep up the good work!!!

THE BEST LUXURY BNB ON THE WIRRAL !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knighton, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have only ever stayed at one other property that is in the league of Calders Croft. The house is lovely, welcoming and comfortable and the three suite-rooms are large and well appointed. Our personal recommendation would be 'Bay' with its watery views but you won't go wrong whichever you select. The point really is that Calders Croft is not a hotel, a guest-house or a B&B - it is a much loved home.

The house therefore is highly recommended but it is your host, Michael, who is the star attraction and makes his home so special for you as a guest. To say that his level of genuine hospitality towards all his guests goes the extra mile would be an understatement by about the length of a marathon!

As to the wonderful breakfasts........well I guess the nearest description would be 'epic'! In fact the very fair cost of staying can be further offset by not needing to eat again all day! It is difficult to describe the choice for breakfast at Calders Croft as simply all you could possibly ask for as we suspect WHATEVER you asked for Michael would provide it.

Bravo Michael - see you again as soon as we can find a suitable excuse!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKnighton_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
4.8 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
774 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
42 Caldy Road
42 Caldy Road
#2 of 5 in West Kirby
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CaldersCroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CaldersCroft

Property: CaldersCroft
Address: 10 Melloncroft Drive | Caldy, West Kirby CH48 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your CaldersCroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CaldersCroft West Kirby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing