We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views.”
Review of 42 Caldy Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
42 Caldy Road
Ranked #2 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay with stunning views across the Dee Estuary and within easy walking distance of a selection of good local restaurants and shops. A lovely breakfast and well appointed bedrooms as well as an ideal location for visiting places around the Wirral, Liverpool and Chester.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birkemhead
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is not very often that anyone stays in a B&B fr more than a few nights but for my wife and I we had 2 whole weeks.
WHY
Because we were mid houses, sold one and the other not ready to move in too.
We had 2 weeks of hell during the day and 2 weeks of heaven in the evenings back at our B&B an oasis of comfort, with stunning views and hosts that only wanted to make us comfortable.

So I think it would be fair to say that if you just want a few days of heaven or even longer this is the place to go.

TRY IT we know you will like it, 14 nights makes us experts.

Room Tip: We had the suite with views over the mersey estuary across to Wales, beautiful to wake up too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Sue was very welcoming. We had amazing views from our bedroom. Gorgeous big living room /dining room area. The rooms were very clean. I would definitely recommend it to others, especially as it seemed good value for money.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed having a view over the garden and river/estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tamsinhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dadlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A big thank you to Sue at 42 Caldy Road for several days of delightful stay. I unexpectedly needed to extend my trip on The Wirral and had no hesitation in extending at 42 Caldy Road. Partly because it's so beautiful (both inside the B&B and in the local area) and partly because Sue is such a delightful host. Thank you for a lovely stay. I look forward to being with you again next month.

Room Tip: Sorry - I clicked swimming pool by mistake and can't seem to get it to undo. This isn't a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SmilingSueInSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were competing at the West Kirby Sailing Club which is easy walking distance. Lots of hot water, comfy beds, cooked breakfast at early o'clock so we make our first race. Warm welcome from Sue and a great view from our room where we could watch the weather from the comfort of our duvet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned having spent 2 days at this hotel. I cannot praise Sue enough for her hospitality and helpfulness. We had a lovely time and would not hesitate to recommend 42 Caldy Road. The room and facilities were excellent and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were so disappointed. We were expecting 'luxury, 5 star, boutique style bed and breakfast' as described in the literature. Whilst comfortable, it does not match the description. The decor is dated and there are none of the trimmings associated with 5 star luxury.

That said, we had a good stay, Sue was very welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast with local produce.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellieg123, Owner at 42 Caldy Road, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Jane
Thank you for your review. We are obviously disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and can only apologise for this. We operate a continuous policy of upgrading - your private lounge was redecorated only 9 months ago, & since your stay we have upgraded the TV with a 40inch Flat screen & have also replaced the lounge suite. We hope that your experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
4.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
771 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
0.2 mi away
CaldersCroft
CaldersCroft
#1 of 5 in West Kirby
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peel Hey
Peel Hey
#1 of 1 in Frankby
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 Caldy Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 Caldy Road

Property: 42 Caldy Road
Address: 42 Caldy Road, West Kirby CH48 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful privately owned 42 Caldy Road guest house offering luxury B&B accommodation. Spectacular views across Dee Estuary towards Wales & just a short walk from beautiful sandy beach, local woods and Wirral Way. Close to West Kirby for restaurants & bars & all amenities, golf, sailing & windsurfing,walking and convenient for Hoylake Open Golf Championship venue 2014, Liverpool & Chester, making us an excellent touring base for North Wales & beyond. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 42 Caldy Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 Caldy Road West Kirby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing