We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem of a place”
Review of China Plate Lodge

China Plate Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kirby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
China Plate Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“what a gem of a place”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

with a warm welcome from john and angela we were shown to a spotless clean room. pleanty of tea and coffee and even a glass of sherry. nice touches and a fab fab full breakfast and very reasonable priced. will be back as loads to do in the area. thanks x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasfrynPorthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great room, great breakfast, great hosts.

Only two small niggles.

Wifi is very hit and miss, more miss than hit.

A horsebox made getting in and out on a very wet evening extremely difficult.

Having said that, it was only a small niggle.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A friends children were being christened and she recommended this lovely b&b. Very nice an quiet, owners were very friendly and accommodating and a beautiful cooked breakfast after a great nights sleep :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeandfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Dined last night with friends in West Kirby. They couldn't accommodate us overnight so recommended China Plate Farm. We are very pleased they did so because we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there. The bedroom was very attractively furnished and spotlessly clean. Great care and thoughtfulness had obviously gone into fitting it out.The breakfast was wonderful- very lavish and freshly prepared. Moreover, the couple running it are thoroughly pleasant people who are clearly prepared to go to any lengths to make your stay a pleasant one. We will certainly go here again and will recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

wow how fab and very warm welcome. great locatio n for xmas shopping after a huge breakfast. grtea folk and good value for rmoney . would stay here and tell other friends when in area so like in the country and relaxing thank you. will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasfrynPorthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a lovely traditional English style b and b. The hosts were so lovely and full of information. We even saw them in a local pub and they bought us a drink.
the breakfasts are AMAZING and will fill you up for the day.
we would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGilboids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bebington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Looking to stay on the Wirral? You can't do better than China Plate Farm. Charming Angela and jovial John (Mr. and Mrs. Holme) will welcome you heartily and serve you generous helpings of sizzling English breakfast. The clean country air will boost your appetite and you can relax in the peaceful rural atmosphere.You'll meet other guests who come back time after time-which speaks for itself.A home from Holme in every sense of the phrase!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
3.4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
CaldersCroft
CaldersCroft
#1 of 5 in West Kirby
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
42 Caldy Road
42 Caldy Road
#2 of 5 in West Kirby
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Plate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Plate Lodge

Property: China Plate Lodge
Address: China Plate Lodge China Farm Lane | Newton, West Kirby CH48 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
China Plate Lodge West Kirby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing