We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
China Plate Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverhill Hotel(Birkenhead)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
41
5
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
5
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat breakfaststayed nightsfull english breakfastjohnfarmfacilitieswest
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My bro & I, plus friends, have all found Angela and John's welcome to their B & B on this working farm comfy, the pleasure of their company, and lots of helpful advice when my car was playing up and the windscreen broke ! Bro loved the delicious home-cooked, ample breakfast, and I found the balcony room a real joy last year. Shame we only stayed a night at China Plate Farm, but it certainly gave us the rest we needed. I would happily go back if in the area. And house martins swooping !

Room Tip: Balcony room is best en suite - a double.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Another great weekend at "my mate's" establishment; warm, cosy, with all the amenities (and more) that one could expect not only from a top class B & B but from a very good hotel!. Super internet access, great toiletries, VERY clean, and superb touches such as the nightcap facility, fridge and TV in sitting room (great if, like me, you are part of a "group" visit).

Breakfast is not just full but VERY full and obviates the need for lunch! Lovely garden and attentive and warm hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have everything (and more) that you need without being intrusive.

Room Tip: Ask for the Balcony Room, en suite and roomy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a working farm, we pulled off the road and into the farmyard where the horses inspected us from their stables and where Angela came out to meet us. Our room was chintzy and comfortable with an en suite and also a small balcony overlooking a country garden. All the usual amenities are there and the 'full English' breakfast included their own delicious bacon, eggs and sausages. If we had the space and the inclination, we could have bought half a piggy to take home for the freezer.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an en suite, so check first.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Home from home- China Plate Farm offers tranquility and easy access to all that West Kirby has to offer. You can be assured a warm welcome, comfortable bed and a breakfast that is both plentiful and delicious- home cooked and quality products. We had the balcony room and early morning prior to breakfast enjoyed a coffee outdoors whilst watching a horse being trained in the paddock. China Plate Farm has stables, and our hosts were more than happy for us to potter around admiring the horses and little piglets- they were happy for us to bring our two grandchildren who live in the area to come and see the farm animals.
The accommodation is not at all staged, it doesn't try to be something that it isn't- it is just comfortable and homely. Will most certainly be back

Room Tip: A small bed and breakfast establishment, so room choice limited- stayed in the Balcony double room would was cosy and tranquil with good en suite facilities
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelinem822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at China Plate Farm in May 2013 as we were guests at a wedding in Hillbark Hotel which was just over a mile away. We received such a warm welcome from Angela & John who took the time to make us feel at home and had plenty of time to chat to us. A fresh pot of coffee and a plate of biscuits was waiting for us in the guest lounge and we were introduced to the other guests. Our twin room was clean and newly decorated with a beautiful view of the horses and geese in the field opposite. Breakfast was delicious and filling with a good choice of cereal, jams and a fry up with local produce. We also had fresh fruit prepared for us. The friendly atmosphere and countryside surroundings was so lovely that we didn't want to leave. We enjoyed seeing the pigs, horses, cows and other animals but the highlight for me was holding a 2 day old piglet!!! The farm is within walking distance of a quiet little town, Newton which has a few pubs and a post office. Will definitely go back and will recommend it to others. Felt as if we were leaving family when it was time to come home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews