We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hardy's Kitchen

Hardy's Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in West Kirby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Grill, Fusion, Street Food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a relaxed licensed cafe/restaurant. Serving breakfasts all day, lunches from 12 ranging from Stews, salads, homemade soups, sandwiches & burgers. plus we have a lovely new selection of dishes to suit Vegan and Vegetarian diets. We are also open Thursday evening for our pop-up Tapas night & Friday nights where we bring our Street Food Menu to the table. Modern Industrial style inside, friendly staff and a passion to make everyone leave with a smile.We are taking Hardy's Kitchen on the road, taking our VW Food Truck to Food & Music Festivals, Street Food parties, Private Parties, Weddings and Events. Where we will serve tasty food served with a huge dollop of love.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Loved our first visit to Hardy's, will be back again!

Brilliant ambiance, lovely and light with minimalist furnishings tastefully decorated.

Perhaps the best full English I've had. Lovely local sausages.

Wife had delicious pancakes.

Kids loved their breakfast too.

Congrats to Matt and his team.

Helpful?
2 Thank wirralkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place has been nicely done out and has a rustic, home cooked food feel. Sadly, some elements of the dishes didn't quite live up to expectations. The granary bread was actually shop-bought brown and what looked like butter tasted suspiciously like margarine. We had to wait half an hour for our orders, and they were only half full. It's not the cheapest - £7.50 for a breakfast which my dining companion said was not a patch on that offered yards away at Scog's, either in size or quality. On the plus side, I enjoyed my social plate which was nicely presented and seemed to be made from scratch; the service was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louach74, Owner at Hardy's Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello, and thank you for your review of our business. We are just getting to grips with how to respond through TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback and apologise if the wait for your food was long. We have fresh bread delivered every day, but Bank Holiday Monday does cause us an issue where we can not get a fresh delivery of our lovely granary bread. Apologies as this should be highlighted to customers at the time. I'm very glad you enjoyed the Social Plate and hope your negative feelings have not put you off returning to Hardy's Kitchen in the future.
Many thanks
Lou & Matt Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food and Great Fun Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Held my wife's 40th B'Day party at Hardy's Kitchen last Saturday night. The party was fab. Matt was excellent pre party in organising every last detail. The food was a tasting version of their menu, there was a constant flow of delicious food from the kitchen! The brownies were amazing. All his staff were so friendly and great to everyone. Place looked fab and the surprise small touches were really appreciated. Overall everyone had a great night. Thanks to Matt & his team.

Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louach74, Owner at Hardy's Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments about your party. So glad you and your wife and your friends enjoyed themselves. See you next year?!?
Lou & Matt Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in today for a late breakfast/early lunch, we had the full breakfast, the works! Everything is cooked fresh & you can tell, it's perfect! The staff & the atmosphere are & is lovely, it's relaxed & friendly & we'll be back! Thank you! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louach74, Owner at Hardy's Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and hope to see you soon.
Lou & Matt Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Let down by long wait......................”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went here today. The place was quite busy and they did not seem to be coping very well. The waitress tried very hard to reassure us and offered us a free drink as we had waited so long. It was an hour or more wait for a toasted sandwich (which was delicious), frozen chips (lose these guys) and poached eggs and bacon on toast ( a bit average). The latte was delicious and large and hot, which was a good thing as we waited so long. They apologised profusely, but seemed to be losing business because the kitchen was just not managing the orders. I have marked them high for service because they were attentive, but the wait was ridiculous, so an overall average. A real shame!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louach74, Owner at Hardy's Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are just getting to grips with responding on the TripAdvisor website - we did respond to you via the review page, but I'm not sure you will have received it. We just wanted to thank you for your comments and of course apologise for the very long wait you had when you visited Hardy's Kitchen. We cook everything to order so things can get delayed in our small kitchen on what was a very busy day. But of course your wait is well over and above what we would ever wish, so totally appreciate your frustration. The frozen gourmet fries are only used when we have run out of our hand prepared fries - but we should have highlighted that at the time. We do however really appreciate the good comments regarding our staff, the latte and the toastie. We hope the experience has not put you off returning.
Many thanks
Lou & Matt Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hardy's Kitchen also viewed

 
West Kirby, Wirral
West Kirby, Wirral
 

Been to Hardy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing