We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding of my dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding of my dreams”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I held our wedding reception at the Leverhulme on the 6th April. Firstly I cannot praise the events team enough Amanda, Donna, Sheree and the team did an amazing job. From the very first meeting right through to the day itself the girls couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful when it came to making sure our day was perfect.

The day itself was kept on track and perfect through the superb efforts of Sheree and her team, they were brilliant especially Sheree who worked so hard all day.

So many if our guests have commented on the stunning venue and how superb the food was, particularly the fact that they had a choice of two for starter, mains and deserts, as this made it just that little bit different from other weddings.

The only slight issue was with a few of the bedrooms but Sheree acted quickly on the day to rectify the issues and made sure this was reflected in the final bill for one of our guests, and the issues where also picked up by Donna after our event.

Overall a fabulous day was had by all and I wouldn't think twice about recommending the hotel especially as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    46
    21
    20
    25
See reviews for
58
101
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Built by Lord Leverhulme as a Hospital for the workers at Port Sunlight Village, the building itself is suffused with light even on a typically grey English day. The atmosphere combines with afternoon tea to remind one just how well things can still be done.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, General Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Paul G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Leverhulme, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and afternoon tea in our Restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again shortly!

Kindest regards,

Claire Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

After going to the Leverhulme about a month ago for a lunch with family / friends, we were blown away by the quality of the food. The sommelier was charming, and his wine nothing less than perfect. Really interesting stuff (I had a charcoal coated smoked salmon + beetroot starter - amazing, and then 'sage and onion' - this was perfectly cooked fish with chicken crisps in the top - also brilliant). We don't normally eat desserts but everyone had something just because the food (and wine) had been so excellent. We couldn't really fault the place, the only thing that puzzled us was how we were the only people eating there. I feel the place needs more publicity! Shame to let such an outstanding place go unnoticed!

Room Tip: Let the sommelier choose the wine - we were going to have another one but he knows exactly what he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PianoBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, General Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear PianoBen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of your time here at Leverhulme Hotel. It’s great to hear you had such an enjoyable meal. We have passed on your comments to everyone involved and they have been thrilled.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Claire Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

From the start to the end a memorable stay. First rate room, food and service! Restaurant has won a few awards. Went on a late rooms deal so excellent value and breakfast included. Didn't use the spa so cannot comment. Sunlight village a lovely area to walk through to visit the near by art gallery.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3. King size bed, lovely wet room and jaccusi bath, soft seating area to watch tv or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, General Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Annie B,

It was a pleasure to have you here at Leverhulme, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback has been passed on to all of the staff who have been delighted to hear your comments!

We hope you return in the near future and definitely recommend a visit to Solaia Spa at our sister Hotel, Hillbark.

Kindest regards,

Claire Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We celebrated our daughter's wedding at the Leverhulme on 24th November 2012. We held a small get together for close family and friends on the evening before the wedding, and both the wedding ceremony and reception were at the hotel. The whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and relatively stress free, due to the committment and friendliness of all the staff, who did their very best to make our weekend a success.
As special thank you to Donna, the wedding co-ordinator, who was thoroughly supportive and obliging during all our meetings, and during the weekend itself. Also to the chef, Richard Fox, who helped sort out the slight problem with the cake, and provided excellent food both on Friday evening and for the wedding breakfast.
If it is chintz, brocade and florals that you want for your venue, then perhaps the Leverhulme is not for you. If however you are looking for a venue with style, simplicity and elegance, then do put this on your list. Almost all of our guests were so complimentary about the choice of venue and its uniqueness. As it was a late afternoon winter wedding, all photographs were taken inside the hotel, which provided a stunning backdrop for the vintage style wedding we had tried to create.
Many thanks once again to all the staff involved. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel for a future wedding reception.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, General Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Marilyn F,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of your time here, we are glad to hear you had such an enjoyable day for your daughter’s wedding. Your comments have been passed to Donna and Richard and they are both thrilled.

We hope that you will return to Leverhulme in the near future to receive the full hotel experience and to try something from Richard’s latest menu!

Kindest regards,

Claire Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The room was very clean, and staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok, I was told breakfast was at 7am, however most of the food was not available until 20 past. Other than this it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The staff were very helpful giving me a ground floor room on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Leverhulme hotel a couple of weeks ago and wanted to leave this review to tell others how amazing this venue is. There have been some mixed reviews on Trip Advisor about the hotel so we really wanted to let others know that our experience with the hotel and all the staff who work there was exceptional. All our guests commented on how beautiful and unique the hotel was for a wedding reception and we couldn't agree more. Amanda and Sherry were fantastic and Sherry really couldn't do enough for us on the day. We were made to feel completely at ease and the whole structure of the reception ran smoothly and professionally. All our guests commented on how lovely the food was too and the free flowing wine was there in abundance :-) After our guests had gone home, our amazing evening was topped off by a 2am dip in the roof top Jacuzzi in our room! Surreal but amazing and definitely worth booking this room instead of the Bridal Suite. Only criticism is that there aren't any tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the high-tech remote control for the lighting is v confusing (no light switches). Breakfast the next day was perfect and all in all we couldn't have wished for a better day! Thanks again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sunlight
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,154 reviews
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
268 reviews
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,319 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leverhulme Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Property: Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Address: Port Sunlight Village, Port Sunlight CH62 5EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Port Sunlight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leverhulme Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Leverhulme Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leverhulme Hotel And Spa
Leverhulme Hotel Port Sunlight
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa Port Sunlight, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing