We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years Eve 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time this new year at leverhulme hotel with our friends. It was our first time here but thought the hotel & room for new year was lovely, it came recommended to us.
Lovely fireworks at midnight to Music was a great touch.
Great hog roast & a mix of canapes all of which was tasty & plentiful.
A magician who thoroughly entertained us at the start of the night with his card tricks & then a wonderful band who played a real mix of music & everyone was dancing right up too & after midnight.
We had a Fab night & thought it was well worth the price of the ticket.
Thanks :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear jax1981,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following our New Year’s Eve event. It was a pleasure to have you and your guests here and we are glad to hear you had such a great evening.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited Leverhulme hotel on New Year's Eve for the first time. Previous visitor to sister hotel, Hillbark and was not left disappointed. The surroundings and decor was matched by the staff, service and music. The food just kept coming, canapés, buffet, hog roast (game and truffle was to die for!) The band were fantastic and had everyone up dancing all night and when you thought it couldn't get any better, out of the side window was a first class firework display! We also had a room for the night which was also first class. Best new year yet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy_m186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Roy_m186339,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had such a great evening as it was a pleasure to have you and your guests here to welcome in the New Year!

We hope to see you all again soon.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had an amazing New Year Eve party to remember!
A table of friends, plenty of other people up for dancing and having fun, huge fireworks display accompanied by music (which we noticed seemed to have been skillfully choreographed), top notch entertainment from the Toni James band who we'll probably use at our wedding now, some crazy canapes (some I liked, but some I thought Heston Bloomingdale may have come up with!), and plenty of hog-based food available from bacon and dry cured ham to big chunks of pork. Only down points were some wine organisation issues at the bar but the house wine was available and perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Gordano,

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends here to celebrate the New Year, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the evening’s entertainment. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you all again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having heard a glowing account of the NYE party at the sister Hillbark Hotel last year, I attended the NYE event here with a large party of friends - £140 single ticket/£60 for 10+. The event was totally disorganised and under-staffed. The hotel looked lovely, Nadiya on reception was great and the champagne reception was good, however, once asked to move into the ballroom, it went downhill. There were about 10 large tables with 3 of them reserved. I asked if a reserved table was for our large party, and was told, “No, they’re for the owners and their guests!” There weren’t enough tables for guests and we were told we should take seats where we can. To do this, we would have had to split in to twos and threes on othere tables. We decided to take a reserved table and when asked to move by staff, explained that we booked together and expected to sit together. They did agree with us, but that meant them bringing in another table and re-arranging the room mid-event! It was chaos. The canapés were brought to the tables rather than at the champagne reception and went straight to the owners guests tables with not much left for paying guests, and only one girl serving. The bar was chaos - again under-staffed, and preferential treatment given to ...owner’s guests. This created quite an ill-feeling and we were not the only paying guests to notice. As if this was not bad enough, the owners/guests had brought toddlers to the event, who were allowed to totter & lie on the dance floor! NYE at a hotel like this should be an adult event and we should have been advised that children would be there, should we wish to go elsewhere. The hog roast was very good but the queues for it too long. Again, better organisation would have seen two tables set up and more staff serving. There were some lovely fireworks at midnight, but again better management could have made the most of them. There were no instructions where to go outside to view them and some of us struggled to get a view out of the windows behind everyone else. I have no idea how this hotel has earned its claimed status as Merseyside's highest rated four star Hotel.
In comparison, having attended a Christmas Party at the nearby 3-star Village Hotel for just £30, with more guests, better room decor, a 3-course sit-down dinner, enough staff and perfect management, I can honestly say I would never go to the Leverhulme again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heatwave65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After booking the Hillbark Hotel last year for NY Eve and having a wonderful time, we were really looking forward to last night at its sister hotel. Location nice, hotel lovely, band were great. However, the bar was totally unorganised, bar staff looked flustered and amateur and were rolling their eyes at each other. When asking for a medium white wine, we were told, well the house white is a little dry but if you don't mind waiting half an hour, we'll try and find you a bottle that would suit. Not the answer we were expecting!!! Canapés were served to the tables near to the door 5 times over before they made their way around to the rest of the room with slim pickings left. When we told the staff about this, they just smiled but didn't seem to know what we were talking about. Obviously no communication between the staff and they didn't seem to care anyway. The canapés were of a low standard too - the ones that we did get! Hog roast - tiny plates to try and fit everything on, disappointing. Even when first walking in, the firework man with some of the hotel staff were pushing their way out the door past us, lacking just a little common courtesy to keep the door open for guests. Extremely disappointing, especially after paying £60 per ticket, would not book here again NY Eve. Have emailed the hotel with this review also.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank shergars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for my husbands birthday, the setting was fantastic especially all the Christmas decorations. The food (we ate from the sample menu option ) was just too good to describe . For special occasions its a must or if you want to impress the love of your life .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank silver6181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Silver 6181,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience of Leverhulme, it was a pleasure to have you here for your husband’s birthday. All of your feedback has been passed on to our team and everyone has been thrilled to hear you had such a special day.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you both back again and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We selected this hotel as the venue for my daughter's 21st birthday family meal and we were delighted with the setting, food, service and overall attention to detail. We enjoyed an afternoon around the village before arriving at the hotel where we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We took our own cake which was beautifully displayed and an extra effort was made to involve the birthday girl in the carving of the meat etc. The kitchen added their own special touches - chocolate fondants on a decorated plate saying 'Happy 21st' in chocolate sauce. Everything was carefully explained and our comfort regularly checked without being overly intrusive. This was our first visit to the Leverhulme but it's set to become a family favourite!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jisibeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Jisibeme,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Leverhulme; it was a pleasure to have you here for your daughter’s birthday.

It is great to hear Leverhulme has become a family favourite and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sunlight
3.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,428 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leverhulme Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Address: Port Sunlight Village, Port Sunlight CH62 5EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Port Sunlight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Price Range: £109 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leverhulme Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leverhulme Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leverhulme Hotel And Spa
Leverhulme Hotel Port Sunlight
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa Port Sunlight, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing