We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Only a review on eating not staying. Went for lunch and it was amazing the food was excellent could not fault it in any way presented beautifully tasted even better and the service was second to none. Would love to go back and stay there as from what I saw it looked like the rooms would be wonderful to. 10/10 for food well worth treating yourselves

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Leverhulme and our Twenty Eight Miles brasserie, our Chef and our team have been thrilled to read your comments.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    45
    21
    19
    25
See reviews for
52
98
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Converted from Port Sunlight hospital this small hotel is a real find, with spacious well furnished and decorated rooms, friendly professional staff and breakfast that is freshly cooked to order. We'll definitely visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Mark T,

We look forward to having you visiting again and hope to see you in the near future, thank you for taking the time to write a review as all of us have enjoyed seeing your feedback.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 6 nights while attending a conference held in this hotel which is situated in the unique Port Sunlight Village which has a well known art gallery. Spacious beautifully furnished warm room with excellent large bathroom, wifi included in rate. Never had a dinner in the restaurant however the breakfast is very good. Staff super friendly and helpful. Central Liverpool only 15 mins away by train with the station a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Andrew W,

It was a pleasure to have you here at Leverhulme, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our team have been thrilled to read your comments and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Six of us ate dinner on Monday evening and could not fault the food or service. Menu's on iPads were a novelty but also practical as those of use who need reading glasses could make the print bigger! Superb wine list and attention to detail throughout the meal. Recommended for a special evening meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirteensteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Thirteen Steps,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you all here at Leverhulme. Everyone has enjoyed reading your feedback so thank you again, we hope to see you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a fabulous Friday deal, and was promised upgrade to room with jacuzzi, but it didn't materialise.

Room we were in was spacious, well maintained with remote control lights and digital shower.

Chef is keen to impress and has cine up with some interesting combinations. In general food was good, although flavours didn't always do it for us, but that it's a personal thing.

Staff all really polite and made us feel welcome from the moment we got there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Leverhulme, everyone has been thrilled to see your feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Helen Jones

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I attended your New Years Eve Function as part of a large group. My wife treated me to this as it was my 50th birthday a few days before and as such I was very excited.
Considering the price she paid for our tickets I feel I have little choice but to complain.
The whole event was very poorly organized with an obvious shortage of staff and no management presence what so ever.

It all started as we where asked to move from our table which was apparently reserved for the owners and friends. There were 12 of us and had we moved we would have had to split up and join other people’s tables. You would think that a group of 12 people all booking under the same name would be also worthy of a reservation in a hotel of this quality. Not an un reasonable request considering it was New Years Eve.

The Canapés came out very slowly and seemed to head for one particular table leaving us and the rest of the room with slim pickings. The quality of some of the Canapés was extremely poor with some being stale.

The bar service was absolutely chronic. The poor girl working it seemed to be on her own most of the time and didn’t have a clue about wine. One of our party waited half an hour for a bottle of Malbec which never materialized. We ended up with a very poor bottle of Merlot at an eye watering £18. (Ridiculous)

Considering it was New Years Eve there was no DJ or countdown. The girl from the band did make an announcement just before midnight but that was it.
I know it's a posh hotel but normally at New Year there are hats, poppers etc for people to make a fool of themselves with on the stroke of midnight. I know this might be “off brand” but in our experience most people like this sort of thing.

The Fireworks where a nice touch but didn’t last very long. It was also difficult to see them through the window. Also no announcements where made to say they where starting.
Dead on Midnight the band started packing up just as most people wanted more entertainment. The process of the band dismantling their equipment was really off putting at such a key time in proceedings.

Following the bands departure we where left with an empty stage and Hits CD on random. The sound quality from the in-house JBL’s was ear piecing and distorted (due to them being over driven). Although we did manage to entertain ours selves we all commented on the lack of atmosphere. Our ears where ringing most of the next day.

Our group all attended a similar type of function across the road at the Village Hotel just before Christmas. This was a member Christmas Party and we paid just £15.95 a head for it. This included a very nice 3-course meal served effortlessly, an MC who directed the evening, an excellent DJ, a lovely sound system that didn’t make your ears bleed and bar service that was quick and knowledgeable. They also had an excellent Malbec at a sensible £9.99 a bottle.

I would welcome your comments.

Kind regards,





Martin and Julie-Anne Craven

Room Tip: Didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mcravenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

As I have only just come onto here I had to leave a review. Me and my husband (boyfriend at the time) first stayed here on 21st january 2012 to which when we arrived were greated by 2 lovely ladies brooke and cherie. Who went on to tell us we had been upgraded as the hotel was really quiet.... we had the most amazing dinner and went back up to our room at 12am my boyfriend come round the bed and got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife... it was magical I later found out that the hotel knew about this and when we went down stairs all the staff were waiting on us congratulating us.. they said we were the first couple to get engaged here. We have been back twice since then the last time being march 1st 2013 again hotel room perfect food amazing and staff brilliant. Little did we actually know I was pregnant at this time too and didnt know. No wonder the 1 malibu and lemonade I had went to my head lol. We got married in there sister hotel the hillbark.. who also suprised us by having cherie pick up the groom and be there on our special day bith hotels beautiful. Returninh for a stay at the hillbark in march hopefully will get to return here at somepoint this year too. Keep up the good work...

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickiejones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear nickiejones22,

It was a pleasure to have you here again at Leverhulme, and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here.

We hope to see you again soon and look forward to having you return to Hillbark.

Always a pleasure.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sunlight
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#5 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leverhulme Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Property: Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Address: Port Sunlight Village, Port Sunlight, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Port Sunlight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leverhulme Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Leverhulme Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leverhulme Hotel And Spa
Leverhulme Hotel Port Sunlight
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa Port Sunlight, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing