We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting Port Sunlight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Sunlight Museum

Port Sunlight Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enchanting Port Sunlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Port Sunlight - quite wonderful and worthy of a full day visit, an easy 15 mins train journey from Liverpool to Bebington, a leisurely walk along Greendale Road as far as the factory building and then a meander back towards Bebington Station through the beautiful village via the church, the museum, the Lady Lever Art Gallery, stopping for lunch and later tea and scones of course!

A quick look on Rightmove to view properties for sale in Port Sunlight was also very interesting - a good place to see the many different house designs including some of the original features.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank settifatma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    110
    30
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Port Sunlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Visited the Port Sunlight museum and village where the Sunlight Soap factory was built with numerous residential homes for their employees and families. We really had mixed feelings as we enjoyed walking around the village seeing the difference in the housing by the architects employed to design and build them. In addition to a School, local hospital, dining hall, other facilities and gardens. William Hesketh Lever was certainly a pioneer who looked after his employees but tinged with sadness when the 1st world war started and many went to fight, never to return. The monument to those is a fitting tribute in addition to the Church where the Lever's are interred. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a delightful village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Port Sunlight is a quaint haven of tranquility nestled cosily on the East of the wonderful Wirral peninsula which in itself offers plenty to see...the lovely coastline of Caldy, West Kirby and Red Rocks at Hoylake, strolling along the promenade enjoying the views of the Welsh hills which are only half an hours drive away whilst savouring a home made ice cream from the famous Nicholls, climbing the ancient sandstone Thor's Rock at Thurstaston, day trips to Chester with its Roman heritage and a ferry across the Mersey to Liverpool with its wonderful museum....
the village itself has lovely archtecture and is beautifully landscaped. Take a stroll from the Hillsborough memorial through the rose gardens, past the war memorial and through more rose gardens to arrive at the stunning fountain in front of the Lady Lever Art gallery.
The gallery is free and well worth a visit. It also has a reasonable cafe.
If you are looking for good food and excellent value for money try the Port Sunlight Garden Centre, they do delicious scones and great sandwiches.
Make sure you don't miss the sunken gardens of the Dell, near to the bowling greens just before you reach the factory frontage of Lever House.
The Bridge Inn is in the heart of the village near to its pretty church if you need refreshments and there is also a small cafe opposite Port Sunlight railway station and one in the Port Sunlight Museum near the art gallery so you are spoiled for choice!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank murraymint65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is my favourate museum ever. I mean I get so carried away and interested at all museums...but this one has a touch of uniqueness about it., and I cannot explain it because you have to go there to understand.
Where it is situated is so beautifull and to think that those amazing houses were built for the workers is unbelievable in todays era.
From the moment you enter this museum, time seems to stop and although you want to stop and look at what the wonderfull art in front of you is ...you simply have to get to the next one.
The artwork is so profoundly amazing, and my favourate being ' Dante., well to actually see it there is like a dream come true to me.
It has so much going for it, I am so surprised that some people have never been there.
I took my husband along there (and he is most definatley no museum type) but he was so impressed he wants to go back also.
I wish I could live in that place and wander around forever...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 907jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Port Sunlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very interesting, history of Port Sunlight & it's founders. Very close (a few minutes walk from The Bridge Inn)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KizzyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Sunlight Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Sunlight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing