We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Spaceport

Spaceport
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.66*
and up
Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Wallasey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Spaceport is a space themed visitor attraction located just across the River Mersey at Seacombe Ferry Terminal, Wirral. Space and space travel is imaginatively explored in this fun, interactive attraction.Included among the intergalatic exhibits is a space dome theatre, Explorer 1 simulator ride, special exhibitions,cafe and a shop.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I expected more from this, still, as we only paid £20 for 4 of us, I should have realised. We were in there for less than an hour. Some of the exhibits weren't working and the Mars exhibit was quite obviously broken! We won't bother to return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grangie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    64
    47
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, enjoyable attraction.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wanted to leave a quick review after an enjoyable couple of hours here. The planetarium and space simulator were both excellent, and there was enough to keep both children and adults occupied. The Time Travellers exhibition was an added bonus. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the whole experience was relaxed and unrushed. The lack of focus on profit was also refreshing- at £20.50 for a family of four, which includes unlimited turns on the simulator, this was really good value, and there is even a picnic area at the end, next to a reasonably priced gift shop. Didn't bother with the ferries or multiple attractions package and to be honest, wasn't sure this would work too well as a stand-alone attraction, but we had a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“badly run”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

staff are just working there , they have no actual interest ... no real atractions , there a simulator (open sometimes) and a planeterium (was closed). rattled through it in half an hour .... save your money and go to woodside.
waste of a building
typical of merseytravel

the whole area has nothing ... ferry terminal cafe doesnt open early enough and shuts at lunchtime!!!!!!!!!! same as woodside ... but at least woodside has the submarine thing and the trams at weekends .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andychrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
367 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Good if you are ignoramus and want to stay that way”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was so disappointingly badly thought out and delivered such poor education. Even the fantastic shots from the telescope in La Palma were not explained, so it was meaningless to me. The pictures and explanations of planets were good and informative. Half the interactive things didn't work and were meaningless. The planetarium was out of focus and the colour was bad - the show was an insult to one's intelligence and in the whole 25 minutes we learned one fact about Europa.
The children's competition handout was on, would you believe, Sci Fi characters on TV - much for educating our young ones.
There was a free pod which was a waste of time and a launch pad which was as irrelevant as David Cameron.

There you have it. I hated it and my son liked the Dr Who exhibition.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank the_finchley_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Party at Spaceport”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My 7yr old son had his party here today. There were 15 children in total and they has a great time. They loved the planetarium and the Dr Who exhibition but I think their favourite was the simulator. Staff were wonderful with the kids, especially Lindsey-the party host. Good party food and party bags. Great place for a party, especially for boys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spaceport also viewed

 

Been to Spaceport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing