We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but tooooo hot !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent but tooooo hot !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent location.....directly on the promenade with breathtaking sea views and ideally situated for restaurants shops ets. Hotel impeccably clean staff helpful and friendly only complaint was the room was tooooo hot!! With no air flow at all made it unpleasant to sleep. Overall though good value for money compared to others in same area as its location was second to none.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    128
    49
    30
    22
See reviews for
136
188
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A fantastic location by the sea, amazing for views of the Sea & River Mersey and for the many ships and boats coming in and out. Fantastic promenade right outside along with a myriad of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep.

I've stayed here before, and you get very good value for money, if this was a bigger chain then you would pay more for the location alone!

The only downside to my trip this time was that my room was way too hot,in fact the top floor corridor was stifling! and as in most hotels like this there is no AC :(. Even with the window open and a breeze funneling down the road non of it was coming into the room and it made it very uncomfortable. Reception tried their best though and did give me a couple of fans to circulate the air, and as much as it helped it was still only blowing the warm air around the room but it helped a little.

For this hotel I would recommend Travelodge invest in AC in the top floor rooms or at least have an air cooler in those rooms for guests rather than normal fans.

Although it was too warm, it is still a great place to stay, and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARG1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic position just yards from the beach, places to eat, the cinema, the shops and within striking distance of great places to visit like the Mersey Ferry and Port sunlight.
The staff were helpful, and our room on the second floor had fantastic sea views. So you think this would be a great place to stay for our little 5 day holiday?
Fortunately I had read previous tripadvisor reviews about the hot rooms, and asked for a fan as soon as we arrived. But this poor fan had no chance of cooling the room down. The window only opened a few inches, and when the heat was unbearable, I found myself pressing my face up against the gap like animal struggling to breathe! Not a good look!
Still too hot, so I took off as many clothes as I could without scaring my husband! Still too hot! I resorted to praying for rain or a nice thunderstorm would have been be even better! No luck!
Sleeping was almost impossible as the poor fan struggled to waft around a bit of warm air! I felt so sorry for the families there with young fretful children who struggled with the heat.
This is a fairly newly built hotel, and it just recently had an upgrade of new beds etc. I don't know why some kind air conditioning wasn't included when it was built, I can only think it was to cut costs.
I would love to stay in this hotel again if they can sort out this problem, but until then I would rather camp on the beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roverlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, good location easy to get into liverpool, by train or bus, lots of places to eat, but can only repeat previous review rooms are too hot no air conditioning window only opens slightly could not get any sleep, could not breath properly anyone with asthma or such like would not cope well here, have stayed in many similar hotels which have air conditionig in. At a price of £95 a night they are certainly raking enough money in to put towards this

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms very basic and small compared with other comparable 'Premier Inn' type hotels. Room temp an unbearable 32 degrees C and staff could not help as there was no air-conditioning. Could not sleep in hotel. Staff acknowledge poor design that had no ventilation. Close to calling Health & Safety Executive as conditions were appalling. Bath pods (NOT ROOMS) are tiny and poor, no wardrobes, only shelf with coat hangers. Not even Lenny Henry would stay in a Travelodge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Hughie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great room, great location, but didn't sleep more than an hour or so due to the heat in the room!!!! Had the window open all night but no relief, and unfortunately the shower is too small to sleep in! Will be looking elsewhere next time. :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedges1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have stayed in around ten Travelodges and this was by far the worst. As we walked into the room there was an awful smell of urine in the shower room. I went down and told the receptionist, Jade, who came up and wiped the floor. However, the smell of urine was still there throughout our two night stay. When we returned to our room on the second day the bed had been made and we had been left one set of towels for two of us; the bins had not been changed; the dirty mugs were still there; the tea and milk had not been replenished; smell of urine in shower room. I told the receptionist about the smell - nothing was done about it or cleaning our room. I was given another set of towels, clean mugs and tea and milk. The room was extremely hot and due to safety reasons the window only opened slightly. There should be air-conditioning or a fan. Our room on the first floor was above a drinking/eating establishment which was quite noisy. It was very difficult to find the Travelodge as the signposting is poor.

Room Tip: None. Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallasey
0.9 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Albion Guest House
Albion Guest House
#2 of 5 in New Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Liver View Hotel
The Liver View Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wallasey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton

Property: Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
Address: Marine Point | King's Parade, Wallasey CH45 2PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wallasey
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton Hotel Wallasey
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing