We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albany Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heywood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Heywood B&B and Inns
South Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Attended a function a few weeks ago and was extremely impressed by the food, cleanliness, customer service and overall attitude of all the staff as nothing was too much trouble. Children were made to feel welcome and will definitely be recommending this lovely hotel to friends and family . Well done to the owners........ A job well done

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    1
    5
    13
See reviews for
13
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Sorry for the delay in our review Paula and Wayne

Before our review we would just like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our special day the best day of our lives,we have just got back of our honeymoon and wish we could of said something sooner.
Ok! Our review...
From the moment we met Paula to ask if it was possible to have our wedding reception at the Albany hotel She went above and beyond our expectations,and also after asking at short notice if we could hold our wedding breakfast ,this wasn't a problem for her or the staff. Both the food and the decor for our our day and night was far more than we could of expected. The room was very clean and comfortable,just what we both needed after the best day of our lives.
Please please please ignore past comments as the Albany is under fantastic new management which will without a doubt make your celebration "THE BEST"

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My best friends got married on the 2nd of May 2014, Paula and Wayne and all of the staff made it a fab day, the room was beautiful and the food for the wedding breakfast was amazing, as was the buffet in the evening. Me and my husband stayed over night as did the bride and groom and we could not fault the rooms. Please ignore previous reviews as this place is under new management and they made the day for the guests and the happy couple.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heywood lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This used to be my local, but for the last 5 years+ has been owned and run to a very poor standard, with a multitude of problems caused to clients and the neighbourhood. However, at last there are good people running it, it is spotlessly clean, the Bar staff are all very friendly ,the food is very good, four of us went to their Tapas night, one of our party is vegetarian,and when this was mentioned to the management, they then prepared 'vegetarian tapas' at short notice and they were also delicious .The portion sizes were huge and the service good and pleasant ,don't know how they did the tapas for £9.95 ! The atmosphere is back to what it used to be when it was our local, before the undesirables took the place over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I do a great deal of travelling and I stay in many hotels-unfortunately nothing like this. From the exterior the hotel looks decent but as soon as you step inside you realise you have made a big mistake.

I was greeted by a very young girl who frankly did not have a clue and came across unprofessional. I was hungry but the smell of the place was off putting.

I went straight to the room and straight back out again!! The smell of stale urine, stains on the linen and walls and tired decor was enough to put me off. I then booked into a much nicer hotel a few miles away.

This 'hotel' needless to say must be inspected by the authorities. A total and utter shambles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Okay, so we arrived at the hotel on Sunday 11th August for a christening in the function room- after bringing in some of our own decorations the function room looked really good! It was spacious and well lay out- three couples decided to stay over in the 'bed and breakfast' as we traveled far for the Christening and also because of the payment for the function room and catering it was agreed that the rooms would be sold at a discounted price of £30 not £50 however when we went to pay we were required to pay the whole £50 per room. The rooms were clean-comfy beds the bathrooms was tiny but stand-able overall the cleanliness of the hotel was very good however when we went to make a cup of tea from our complimentary items the biscuits were open and the tea spoon and saucers were dirty from the night before guests. Sky tv was a good plus. The bar staff were really friendly too only when we went to get a drink at half 10 the bar was closed and there no where to get a drink apart from the tap with our dirty cups. Lovely venue and majority clean and nice staff but just felt as though it wasn't worth the value especially as we were led to believe that it was a bed and breakfast but they don't sell breakfast- weird

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Looks very nice inside and out but that is where it ends ! We stopped off on our way to leeds big mistake the food was disgusting and gave me a bad stomach. i think its just reheated the room was not very nice and beding wasnt clean (musky smell!) There also seemed to be a big problem with druggies and the owner seemed to be very drunk and not very well mannered. I will not be visiting again yuk

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
1.1 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.8 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 87-89 Rochdale Road East, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 1PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is located just outside Heywood centre with rooms from only £35.00 we have Karaoke every Friday and Sunday and Live singers every Saturday,also Quiz/Bingo Curry night every Wednesday. We have a fantastic Function room and provide Buffets etc Our Restaurant offers fantastic value for money with excellent home made food and a special Sunday carvery from only £4.95 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Albany Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing