We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average takeaway style food can't see why this is rated highly?”

Hoya's Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Heywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family owned business in the heart of Heywood. We serve tasty and contemporary Cantonese meals all freshly cooked and made to order.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very average takeaway style food can't see why this is rated highly?”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited purely based on reviews on trip advisor. Honestly wish we hadn't. I expected the food to be tasty with fresh ingredients. But honestly was the usual takeaway style - ribs were supposed to be in honey sauce, I expected sticky flavoursome ribs but these were bland and dry the rice was salty, and the garlic sauce on our meat dish tasted like weak English gravy. Meat processed. Garlic prawns also dry. Prices expensive considering sides were extra.
Tables sticky underneath, table cloths needed washing ,and carpets worn down needed replacing. Music was English pop. Plates were side plate size.
Maybe other dishes were different but all our food was dire.
Only good thing was friendly waiter.

Shame as I was looking forward to coming here. But won't return

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mysonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david y, Manager at Hoya's Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are sorry hear your disappointing visit to us recently, however I would like to respond to some of following points you made;

- I can assure you that non of the meals contain any processed meats, as all are meats are fresh cuts of individual meats.
- The garlic prawns that was ordered was a starter of skewered prawns which comes with a side dipping sauce which we think is a substantial amount for this starter. If you required extra sauce we would be more than happy to provide some extra for you.
- If the issues was raised about the flavouring of the food we would more than happy to replace or exchange the food to more off your liking.
- Our top table cloths are changed and washed every time a table has been used. We also have our carpets cleaned on a regular basis.
- We play a variety of easy listening music ranging from English love songs to Chinese instrumental..
- We find are pricing competitive to other eating establishment around the area.
- The plates we provide are off standard size for the food, if you required a larger plate we would have happily provided you with a larger one.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,

Management of Hoya's Cantonese Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    43
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The first time always leaves an impression when the food is GOOD.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Called early evening and took advantage of the early bird menu. The food and service was excellent. The hot & sour soup was the best in town. We have subsequently tried their take away food and it beats any other take away in town. I don't think we will be going anywhere else in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food was great,the staff really nice and the ambiance of the restaurant made this visit perfect in every way

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and lovely food!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Been many times, staff are always pleasant and friendly, they also do takeaways which is helpful if you cant manage your meal. The food is always fresh and tasty, they will also add something to your dish if you require Quite small, so booking is probably best at weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0uby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ Great food!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband eat here once or twice every couple of months. I love the traditional decor and atmosphere it reminds me of all my family meals growing up in a Chinese family.

The food and the service are excellent always a friendly smile and very attentive.

The prices are reasonable and they do set menus. I'm addicted to the chicken rolls!

I suggest you go and see for yourself you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Chinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoya's Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hoya's Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing