We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veenas - CLOSED

Veenas
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went on Saturday for a friends birthday , fantastic food, service and prices. Wouldn't go anywhere else! Staff were excellent!
Would decently recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    10
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Redemption !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a bad experience there about a month ago, so decided to give the place a last chance.

Food was fantastic, service was great..............................oh and dis I mention the food !!!!!

Was very quiet but couldn't fault anything, paid £40 for food and drinks for two, yes will return again !!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Been here quite alot...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Been here quite alot since maybe 13? im 25 now.
love it here and absolutely love the onion bargies. could just eat them now lol.
good service.
drinks abit pricey but apart from that top marks from me

Helpful?
Thank bambi27711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Went early on a Saturday night. Not been for a few years and not much has changed. After sitting with a drink and looking at the menu we were shown to a table and our order was taken. We then waited about half an hour for our starter. The food though was delicious. The wait between starter and main was about ten minutes, which was about right. The staff are very friendly and the ambience very relaxed. £50 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 glasses of wine & 2 pints seems more than reasonable. For lovers of Indian food, I would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darreng153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh Dear....................”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Been before so decided to pay a visit on Saturday night, it was quite busy but we were quickly shown to a table, sadly it went downhill from there....................

The waiter took our drinks order and then brought our poppadoms over, sadly our drinks failed to turn up, I asked the waiter to chase these up because by now we had almost finished the poppadoms, which are far too dry to eat without a drink.....................finally our drinks order turned up, the waiter took our main course order.
We then waited almost an hour without a word of either apology or explanation, there was a large party in and the staff seemed to be concentrating most of their attention on them !!!!!

When our main course did arrive it was lovely, but sadly by now we'd lost interest and got fed up with waiting for our drinks to arrive, when they did come the order was wrong, perhaps I should have done what the noisey party did and gone to the bar to get my own, again probably explained why we were kept waiting for ours so long.

The food was as good as we've eaten, but sadly the poor service and waiting had ruined the evening. When the bill came, we couldn't work it whether we'd been overcharged, but decided just to pay up and leave. I'll be taking this up with the owner if we decide to visit again.

Great place, lovely and modern, but it seems if they get busy it stops there !!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 135GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Veenas also viewed

 
Heywood, Rochdale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing