We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an excellent hotel for both business & pleasure”
Review of Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We are a company who carryout infrastructure projects in the Greater Manchester and Lancs area. The 2 engineers who stayed could not fault this hotel and praised its welcome, comfort and the cooked breakfast. We will certainly be using Birch Hotel in the future and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we are pleased that your engineers were made to feel at home and welcome. We have many returning guests and we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

From the 1st phone call to make my booking I was impressed, was met with a warm and inviting smile on checkin and was asked how my day had gone, was put on the 1st floor initially but the lady easily moved me to the ground when I requested.
Evening meals are delicious and so well presented! Breakfast is cooked to order which is fantastic! Never felt as invited and relaxed in any other hotel as I have in this one!
I work a lot in Manchester and will not be bothering to look anywhere else on my business travels, the Birch is best for me!. Thank you all

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the hotel, we strive to go that extra mile on all occasions and we are so happy that our guests see the benefit of this.
Chef will certainly be pleased, as will all the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

i stayed one night and made use of the function room.

The function room was already set out for me with drinks facilities provided.

I held a product training evening there for approx 30 people it was comfortable and plenty of room for demonstrations.
The room was basic but warm and clean, the bed was comfortable and was situated around the back so was very quiet.
breakfast was included and was plentiful with the choice of fruit, cereal,yogurt and toast accompanied by a full English.

The staff are very friendly and efficient and make you feel very welcome.
i would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review and recommendations to other travellers & corporate clients, we hold conferences daily and are happy to have met with your approval during your stay.
We look forward to providing conference facilities for you in the future,
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have to admit the only times I've been here is for family wakes, so all I can say is the service is excellent, food average, no idea of price of meals but the drinks are reasonable enough, would come again on a more pleasant occasion so I can give you a better idea of the place !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriss414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Birch and we regret that your visit was not for a more joyous occasion but hope that our staff were sympathetic during your stay. We will gladly welcome you back at any time.
Thank you once again and kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to go to The Birch with friends to take all the hassle out of New Years Eve celebration. It was a good choice. Easy check-in , pleasant room, great meal, good Abba tribute act, super disco, reasonable bar prices and delicious brunch breakfast. What's not to like ?
Deserving particular mention are the staff who were friendly, welcoming, in some cases highly entertaining and hard working. I was especially impressed by the way the meal was served, everyone on each table got each course one after the other and there was no waiting for everyone to get their meal. This was true for tables of 2 or 20.
I'd definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your great review, it brings a smile to the whole team when reading these lovely comments, we are looking forward to repeating the same standards of service & atmosphere for Christmas 2014 and we certainly will be pleased to see you again.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We go to the Birch Hotel for New years eve every year, as it is such a great night and good value.
You are served a very acceptable three course meal and the wine list is good at reasonable prices.
All the staff are very friendly and can't do enough to please.
There is a tribute act after the meal, this year it was "Abba 2nite" a girl duo who were very entertaining and sang well.
The female DJ is entertaining and has everybody on the dance floor for most of the night.
Overall, a good night at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel and service you received over the festive period, it makes such a difference to have returning customers and we hope we shall see you back very soon.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel on a new years eve package. Bed, breakfast, evening meal and entertainment which was an Abba tribute band. I am not much into Abba but they were brilliant. The hotel was clean, the evening meal was very good considering they were catering for a full house and all being served at the same time. The brunch/breakfast was very good and they were even serving steak and lamb chops! But, most of all the staff were amazing, attentive friendly and very helpfull. The manager deserves a pat on the back as they made this experience and our stay feel like we were staying in a hotel with double the star rating. Thanks for a very memorable new year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as we were awaken by people walking around in the room above us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments & lovely review of our services and standards over the festive period, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I know our staff will be very pleased too. We look forward to repeating this for Christmas 2014, and hope to welcome you back :-)
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.4 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Birch M62 Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Price Range: £45 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free. Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing